Homemade Laundry Detergent!

So as a part of my whole-foods, green journey I have started switching over my household cleaners to green solutions. Since I was trying to avoid all the chemicals in processed foods – why had I never thought about the chemicals I used all over my house? My plan is to use up the current products that I have, and as each one runs out, switch over to a homemade, green, solution. Hopefully I’ll be healthier and save some “green” in the process! 🙂

First challenge – homemade laundry detergent. I scoured pinterest for recipes and found that most require grating a bar of soap and boiling it on the stove. For my first attempt, I wasn’t really willing to sacrifice a separate pot and cheese grater to my experiment. Hallelujah! I found a recipe for “no-grate” laundry detergent through pinterest, on the blog ‘One Good Thing by Jillie’ (one of my favorites now!). Here is a link to her site: http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/02/no-grate-homemade-laundry-soap.html. I started making this detergent about 2 months ago and have been very happy with it!

homemade-laundry-1_22_13

Here’s the recipe:

“No-Grate” Laundry Detergent:

  • 3 tablespoons Borax (sounds scary – but it’s right there in the laundry aisle at the grocery store!)
  • 3 tablespoons Washing Soda (also in the laundry aisle)
  • 2 tablespoons Dawn dish soap

That’s it! Just put all three ingredients in the bottom of the container you’re using (I recycled old gallon water jugs) and cover with a few inches of hot water and shake to dissolve. Then, fill the rest of the jug with cool water and store. Beware – there is a lot of foam! But it settles down and stores nicely. Also, I’m very opposed to measuring (I just can’t get into it! :-)) But one tablespoon is about a “palmful” or the size of a soup spoon so I just estimate that when I’m pouring into the jug.

Sidebar: I am a single, childless, 20-something so there isn’t many occasions where my clothes are particularly dirty with stains, so this detergent has worked well for me but I don’t know how it would do tackling a REALLY dirty piece of clothing. But I did find a recipe for homemade “Shout” – so I’ll use that the first chance I get and let you know how it works! 🙂

For more green-cleaning tips, check out my Pinterest board ‘Green Cleaning and Freshening’ at http://pinterest.com/jfox915/green-cleaning-freshening/.

2 responses to “Homemade Laundry Detergent!

  1. Pingback: New Homemade Laundry Detergent | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  2. Pingback: Green Cleaner: Bathroom Cleaner | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

