Tofu Fried Rice

So after a long day of shopping and a viewing of ‘Oz the Great and Powerful’ I was ready for a quick and easy supper! Luckily, I had planned for just the thing. Earlier this week, I got a box of produce from Washington’s Green Grocer (http://www.washingtonsgreengrocer.com/) – my favorite local produce provider (and they have lots of other goodies like meats, cheeses, etc too!). In this box, I also got a block of extra firm tofu from Twins Oaks Community (an egalitarian community in rural Virginia – learn about them here: http://www.twinoaks.org/). I also had leftover rice in the fridge, so I had planned ahead to use up both items in some delicious “fried” rice.

First, I cut the tofu into blocks and marinated it in equal parts worcestershire sauce and soy sauce (low sodium of course) with a few cloves of grated garlic, some onion powder, cracked black pepper, and grated ginger. I did this the day before, so it would have time to soak up some real flavor (as tofu doesn’t have much of it’s own). When I got home yesterday, I drained the tofu and threw it into a hot saute pan with a few tablespoons of olive oil to get a crust on the tofu. Then, I threw in the leftover rice and a few more tablespoons of olive oil and soy sauce and sauteed it all together until it got crispy. Finally, I threw in a few handfuls of organic frozen vegtables (peas and carrots) from my favorite – Alexia foods.

on it's way to being done!

on it’s way to being done!

I made a well in the center of the pan, added in a few eggs and scrambled them before mixing them in with the rest of the ingredients in the pan.

adding in the eggs...

adding in the eggs…

What resulted was a HUGE pan of fried rice that I’ll be eating all week – and it was delicious!

Β 

Tofu Fried Rice - 005

Leave a Comment

