Honey – You Shrunk My Cold!

So I woke up this morning (as well as about a dozen times last night) with a raw, sore throat and sinuses stuffed to the breaking point with pressure. Oh the joys of cold season! There’s been a nasty cold cycling around the office so I can’t say I’m surprised. I’m just hoping it doesn’t last because I have a weekend of fun planned with my parents, attending the Chesapeake Wine Expo in Chesapeake, VA – my hometown. And – you guessed it – I plan on battling this cold naturally. I just don’t like those extreme cold and sinus medicines that make me feel shaky and drugged, which is almost as bad as the cold symptoms themselves! No, I think there’s a better way – like hot tea, honey, soup, and hot showers with homemade “vapor rub” discs that open your air passages like magic! See the recipe for making homemade “vapor rub” discs here: http://beingfrugalbychoice.blogspot.com/2012/03/homemade-vicks-vapor-shower-disks.html.

First step this morning – hot tea with honey. I recently purchased some local, raw honey from ‘Really Raw Honey’ in Baltimore, Maryland. Their honey is never heated, and is (in their words) “totally unprocessed honey. It still contains pollen, propolis, honeycomb and live enzymes — all the goodness the bees put in! That’s why Really Raw Honey is creamy, smooth and spreadable with sweet and crunchy cappings – the crunchy bits of pollen, propolis, and capping wax that crown each jar of their honey. Really Raw Honey is gathered from fields of wildflowers planted by nature.” Delicious! I’ve been stirring a half teaspoon or so at a time into each mug of steaming hot green tea and my throat is feeling better already! Now I just have to tackle this terrible sinus pressure!

In honor of the wonderful raw honey that is currently battling my sore throat, I thought I’d share some facts about this super food. Did you know that most honey sold in the US isn’t the healthy, natural sweetener that you’d expect? A recent study done by Food Safety News (read the report here) found that 75% of the honey tested in their sample had been heated and “ultra-filtered”, a process which removes almost all traces of pollen. And that pollen has great health benefits – helping with allergies, stomach issues, and contains enzymes and antioxidants that do a body good! Honey is also a natural antiseptic which can be used on burns, scrapes, and cuts. In fact, the FDA has said that honey that does not contain pollen isn’t legally honey – but they aren’t doing any tests on the honey sold in the market. Raw, local honey is good for your local economy, the environment, and good for your body! So consider buying local the next time you need some real honey goodness.

For more information of honey’s benefits: http://www.rodale.com/healing-foods-cold-and-flu?page=5.

What is your favorite home remedy for cold and flu symptoms?

Leave a Comment

