Green Cleaning: Homemade Dishwasher Soap

I’ve really fallen in love with making my own cleaning products. It’s just so easy and cheap, and most of all – green! You can clean everything in your house with just a few key ingredients – like vinegar, baking soda, rubbing alcohol, and a few essential oils. But more on that later πŸ™‚ First up – homemade dishwasher detergent!

If you’re already making your own laundry soap – you already have two of the three ingredients needed to make soap for the dishwasher. The ingredients are: borax, washing soda, and (drumroll…) lemon koolaid! I was shocked when I saw the lemon kool aid ingredient, but when I mentioned it to my mom she says they used to use kool aid (known as ‘bug juice’) on the navy ships all the time to clean things. Sort of makes you re-think actually drinking the stuff, huh? Personally, I stopped drinking soda in high school and haven’t touched a sugary drink since. I stick to water and hot tea, occasionally drinking juice when I’m sick. So, needless to say, I wasn’t sure where to find kool aid packets in the super market. And of course I have to be stubborn about it and wander around until I find it, instead of asking someone who works there for help. After what felt like 2 trips down each aisle, I finally found them – the aisle even had ‘drink mixes’ on the sign. No idea how I missed it – but you know how that grocery store haze sets in. It’s the same haze that makes you forget the one item you came to the store for in the first place.

Back to the point – here is the ingredient line up for our homemade dishwasher detergent:

20130312-170747.jpg

You can use any container you’d like – I personally went with a one quart sized mason jar donated to my craft projects by my mom. The final recipe makes just over 4 cups of detergent, so any container that will hold that amount (or you can halve the recipe very easily). In you container, mix together 2 cups of borax, 2 cups of washing soda and 2 packets of sugar-free lemon kool-aid. You’re done! Here’s the finished product:

20130312-170843.jpg

Recipe:
– 2 cups borax
– 2 cups washing soda
– 2 packets sugar-free lemon kool-aid

Mix well and store. I use about two tablespoons in the detergent cup for a normal load, and put another tablespoon or so in that outer detergent cup if the dishes are especially dirty (from baked on food, or pasta sauce, something like that). So far it’s working great.

How does the homemade dish soap work for you? I’ve seen some other recipes out there – any you prefer?

3 responses to “Green Cleaning: Homemade Dishwasher Soap

  1. Pingback: New Homemade Laundry Detergent | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

