Recipe: Classic Hummus

20130318-191745.jpg

I am a big fan of hummus. And it’s so cheap and easy to make – you’ll never buy storebought again! Tonight, being “meatless Monday” I decided to make some hummus to eat on top of my salad along with leftover tabbouleh from this weekend. I’ll post the tabbouleh recipe soon too, along with the recipe for tandoori chicken that I’m planning on making tomorrow night. What follows is the recipe for basic hummus. Personally, when I make it, I used both lemon zest and lemon juice, as well as above 5 garlic cloves instead of the one or two listed in the recipe below. This results in a very lemony, garlicky, hummus. I wouldn’t recommend starting with that much garlic, I am just a garlic addict so five raw garlic cloves barely phase me. I think I finally took it far enough this time as I can still taste garlic a few hours later. Oops! At least I live alone so no one else is around!

20130318-191837.jpg

Classic Hummus Recipe

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained (or about two cups of cooked, dried chickpeas)
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/3-1/4 cup tahini
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, grated (I do this because I don’t trust the food processor to chop it up evenly when starting with a whole clove – but it’s up to you.)
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup of olive oil, drizzled in until desired consistency
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • smoked paprika (for topping, optional)

20130318-191934.jpg

Place all ingredients except for the olive oil and paprika in a food processor or blender and process while streaming in olive oil until smooth. This usually requires about 1/3 of a cup. Top the finished hummus with smoked paprika, if desired. Smoked paprika is my personal favorite but you can also top with chopped olives, peppers, etc or mix any of these ingredients in during the blending. It’s a basic hummus recipe that can be added to as you desire!

As mentioned before, below is a picture of my dinner for the night. A big salad of romaine and cucumbers, topped with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and then a big scoop of hummus and tabbouleh salad on top – delish! And of course I couldn’t resist having some Naan bread on the side, but at least I held myself to half a piece!

20130318-192012.jpg

7 responses to “Recipe: Classic Hummus

  1. Pingback: Turkey Hummus Wrap | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  2. Pingback: “Greek-Style” Tabbouleh Salad | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Where do you get tahini? I spent ten minutes looking for it in the grocery store the other night and couldn’t find it.

  4. Pingback: Announcing: Featured Foxy Foodie! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

