Homemade ‘Taco Seasoning’

20130321-152809.jpg

I don’t see any reason to spend money on pre-mixed seasoning packets when it’s so easy and inexpensive to assemble them from your own spice cabinet! One of my favorites is “taco seasoning” although I use it for a variety of recipes that I want to have that tex-mex quality. For example, last night I used it to season a combination of 1 lb ground pork and 2 cups of cooked lentils to make a filling (along with my homemade refried beans) for tacos. It made a ton of filling! I’ll probably be eating it in both tacos and on salads for the rest of the week. Which is fine by me 🙂 When you have good, healthy, food handy in the fridge then you aren’t as susceptible to eating quick, processed foods. And, since I used up the last of my homemade seasoning last night it was the perfect time to make some more! Here’s the line up…

20130321-160940.jpg

Homemade ‘Taco Seasoning’ – makes approximately 1/2 a cup

  • 4 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 3 teaspoons hot, smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Place all ingredients in your chosen storage container (I use a small mason jar) and shake to combine. This recipe makes about 1/2 a cup but you can double or triple it based on the size of your container. I use approximately 2 tablespoons of seasoning for around a pound of meat (I usually season to taste) so this little container makes plenty for a couple of months. Also, you’ll notice that I didn’t include any salt in my mix! It seems unnecessary to me as I prefer to salt and pepper the meat separately when it hits the pan. It’s just SO easy to over salt food and most of us eat WAY too much sodium so I feel like this is a better approach.

I use this seasoning mix on ground meat or chicken pieces for tacos, burritos, quesadillas, salads, etc. There are a lot of different options – and it’s easy and healthy!

6 responses to “Homemade ‘Taco Seasoning’

  1. great recipe! i hate buying the taco mix from the stores so I’ll definitely be using this recipe now! thanks! =]

    • Thanks Ali! I completely agree that I hate buying pre-mixed seasonings – I hope you like the mix! There’s no onion/garlic powder in the recipe (which you do see in a lot of recipes) because I like to use fresh onion and/or garlic sauteed in with the meat.

      Let me know what you think! And thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. I’ve been wanting to make my own (doesn’t make sense to buy a packet every time!) but I hadn’t tried one yet. Thanks for sharing! Do you think I could use regular Paprika? 🙂

    • Definitely! Smoked paprika and regular paprika only have a slightly different taste so I don’t think it would ruin the overall seasoning to substitute 🙂 Let me know how it is!

  3. Pingback: Mexican-Style Rice, Beans and Spiced Steak | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  4. Pingback: Using Lentils As A Meat Substitute & Burrito Filling Recipe! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

