Recipe for Homemade Whole Wheat Pancake Mix

20130323-015318.jpg

So I used to buy pre-made pancake mixes and, don’t get me wrong, there are some great mixes out there. I especially liked this one 9-grain mix I was buying at Harris Teeter that even had flax seed in it. Yum. But then I started to think how easy it would be to make my own mix. Basically, I just pre-mix all the dry ingredients in an air-tight container and then add the wet when I’m ready to make pancakes. So easy – and so delicious! I was so surprised the first time I made them at home fluffly and delicious these pancakes are – and they’re whole grain!

Whole Wheat Pancake Mix

    4 cups whole wheat flour
    4 tbsp ground flax seed
    9 tsp baking powder
    1 tsp salt
    4 tsp cinnamon (optional – but I love the flavor!)
    2 tsp sugar

Mix all ingredients together in an air-tight container and store. When it’s time to make pancakes, use an egg for every cup and a half of mix, and add milk until the batter comes together, but is not too thin. It should look like the pancake batter that you are used to. I do this by sight only, but it’s probably about a 1/2 cup of milk for every cup and a half of mix. Butter a griddle and cook the pancakes until the bubbles that form on the top “stay open” when they pop instead of re-forming, then flip. Cook until golden brown. The combination below makes approximately 8 pancakes, depending on size.

Whole Wheat Pancakes

    1 1/2 cups pre-made mix (recipe above)
    1 egg
    approximately 1/2 cup of milk (add milk until batter comes together but is not too thin)
    optional – 1/2 tsp of vanilla

Enjoy! I usually have a fruit smoothie for breakfast during the week – but whole wheat pancakes and fruit are a nice treat on the weekends! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to “Recipe for Homemade Whole Wheat Pancake Mix

  1. These sound delicious and how brilliant to have a premade dry mix to make it faster! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: “Protein” Pancakes | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pumpkin Pancakes & A Kitchen Tip! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

