Happy Friday! And Upcoming Orlando Vacation!

This week has gone by so slowly – doesn’t that always happen when you have something at the end of the week that you’re really looking forward to? Tonight I fly to Orlando with two of my best friends for a four day vacation. I’ve been looking forward to this for months and I am so excited it’s finally here! Our main motivation (besides a vacation in the beautiful Florida weather) is to see ‘The Wizarding World of Harry Potter’ at Universal Studios but we’re also planning on going to three Disney parks – the Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Animal Kingdom. This will be my first visit to Universal Studios, but Disney World has been a regular vacation for my family throughout the years. Although this will be my first visit to Magic Kingdom since I was about 12 or so, and they did just finish the newest part of the park – Fantasyland! I am very blessed that my Uncle works at Disney World so we get a great family discount on our room at the Disney All-Star Music Resort as well as free tickets into the [Disney] parks. For three twenty-somethings going on vacation, that has been a real blessing. And we scored a cheap flight (and a direct flight!) through a sale on Travelzoo. All these things combined have made for a very affordable vacation for us. And of course the opportunity to completely ‘nerd-out’ at The Wizarding World of Harry Potter is priceless! Wand shop, here we come! 🙂

This vacation will be my first big trip since I changed to a clean eating lifestyle. While I know I won’t be tempted to eat any fast food (and we won’t really be around any), I know it’s going to be a challenge to make healthy eating choices when every meal for four days is going to be eaten out. I’m especially going to miss having my green smoothie every morning for breakfast. It really starts my day off on a good note and makes me feel energized. I think as a substitute I’m going to try to eat a big bowl of fruit for breakfast – and resist the urge to eat pancakes/waffles/French toast every day! I know I’ll feel better in the long run because of it. I’ve also seriously thought about what to do for my Meatless Monday. I’ve been keeping Meatless Monday going for a few months now, and I don’t really want to break the streak – but Monday is also the day we’re going to Universal Studios (i.e. The Wizarding World of Harry Potter) and Universal City Walk for dinner which is home to some wonderful restaurants, most notably Emeril’s. And I’ve been dying to eat at Emeril’s for years. Quite a conundrum. I’ve decided to play it by ear – try to make vegetable-based choices throughout the day – but not pass up any opportunities while I’m there. I feel like I’ll end up eating meat that day so as penance I’ll do a meatless day or two when I get back on Wednesday. There is a recipe for curried lentils and chickpeas (in the crock pot!) that I’ve been absolutely dying to try so that will be my first big meal when I get back, and it’s already something I’m looking forward to! I don’t think of Meatless Monday as a punishment, but rather as an exciting opportunity to find new things to eat.

I’ve also worried about keeping up my new fitness schedule on vacation. Last week, I wrote about how I’m sort-of, kind-of starting to become a runner. I ended up running 3.1 miles on four days last week, and capping the week off with a body pump (weight lifting) class on Saturday. Boy was I sore on Sunday! (And Monday too, to be completely honest.) I think I may have over-done it a little bit on my first week out. I mean, going from running zero miles each week for years – to running 12.4 miles in one week is a little extreme in retrospect. And I had the sore arms, legs, knees, etc. to prove it. So this week I did two days running 1.5 miles, and one day running 3.1. That was a little light on the distance in my opinion, but I didn’t want to be sore or hurt for all the walking around I’m going to do at Disney/Universal. I’ve decided I’m not going to do any extra running/walking on this vacation because pretty much all day every day is going to be spent walking around the parks. I wish I had a pedometer so I could track all the mileage we’re going to rack up! And then next Saturday it’ll be back to body-pump class to get back in the swing of things.

Has anyone else been to Magic Kingdom or The Wizarding World of Harry Potter? What are your ‘must-see’ places?

What are your tips and tricks for staying fit and healthy on vacation?

6 responses to “Happy Friday! And Upcoming Orlando Vacation!

  1. Have a great time!! I would LOVE to go to the HP World! 😀

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’ll take lots of pictures to share with you all so you can experience the magic too! I know it’s going to be amazing 🙂

      • Ooh, I look forward to the photos! (I just told my son you were going there and he said, “Tell her to come pick us up.” lol He’s nine. 😉

      • Aw! 🙂 that’s so sweet! I’ll definitely try to get lots of pictures, I’m usually terrible at remembering to take them but my friends and I have made a pact to remind each other – we have to document all the awesomeness!

  2. Have a wonderful time! Your body will forgive any indulgences when you come home and get back on track 🙂

Leave a Comment

