Homemade Sweet Potato Chips!

20130401-133149.jpg

Thanks to my wonderful produce box from Washington’s Green Grocer I still have a few sweet potatoes hanging around the house. I got three total in the box – so the first one I cubed and roasted in the oven and I’ve been throwing on top of salads. I don’t like to make too much of one thing and get bored, so for the second one I decided to make something crispy – chips!:-) I figured it wouldn’t be too hard – I’ve made kale chips before and regular potato chips so I followed standard procedure. First, gather up my potato (peel it – which for some reason I’m terrible at and it always takes me a really long time) and my mandolin. I received the mandolin as a Christmas present and it is one of my new favorite kitchen tools – it’s so easy to use and produces such beautiful even slices! But if you don’t have a mandolin you can easily just slice your potato up into the thinnest slices you can – I set my mandolin for 1/8 inch.

20130401-133312.jpg
20130401-133409.jpg

Actually in the picture above the mandolin is set for 1/16 of an inch but after a few slices I felt that was a little thin so I switched to the 1/8 inch and it was perfect! 🙂 I sliced up my whole potato in a matter of a minute.

20130401-133532.jpg

I spread the slices out on a baking sheet and drizzled them with olive oil, salt and pepper – flipping the slices around in the oil to make sure they were all coated. I stuck with salt and pepper for this batch, but you could add any seasonings you like. Personally, I think some smoked paprika would be great on these – so that’s what I’ll try next time 🙂

20130401-133725.jpg

I baked the chips in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. As you can see, some of mine got a little charred, which I don’t mind, but you might want to start checking them around 6 minutes and again every two minutes after that, because they will crisp up quick depending on the thickness of your slices. I was happy with the finished product 🙂 I think they’ll make a great crispy addition to some salads later in the week! Enjoy!

20130401-133813.jpg

2 responses to “Homemade Sweet Potato Chips!

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I’m always looking for healthy substitutes for good food. I love sweet potatoes. Thanks for providing me with an easy new way to make healthy potato chips!

Leave a Comment

