Indian-spiced Lentil & Vegetable Stew Recipe

So yesterday I finally got around to trying my new Indian recipe! 🙂 I had seen a few different recipes that inspired me to write this one. First, I saw a Real Simple recipe (here) for spiced lentils and chicken and then I saw one here for Indian spiced lentils in the crockpot. Both looked yummy! And both were served with Naan bread, and I’ll take any excuse to eat Naan! 🙂

I noticed that both recipes had some vegetables in them (an onion here, a sweet potato there), but were mostly made up of lentils. While I LOVE lentils, I knew I wanted to add some more vegetables to the equation. Mostly because my produce box for the week had a lot of great options that I could add to the recipe – parsnips, celery, potatoes, etc. so I had to give it a shot. What I ended up with is sort of an Indian-spiced, lentil, chickpea and vegetable stew. I wasn’t sure what to call it but boy is it delicious! And in the crockpot too! 🙂

’Indian-spiced Lentil and Vegetable Stew’


    • 1 cup organic red lentils, uncooked
    • 1 can organic garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
    • 1 can organic diced tomatoes
    • 1 ½ tablespoons curry powder
    • 1 teaspoon garam marsala (Indian spice blend – can be found in most grocery stores)
    • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika (regular paprika will also work)
    • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper (this makes it pretty mild – feel free to up this amount if you like it spicy)
    • 2 teaspoons cumin
    • 2-3 stalks of celery, chopped
    • 2 small potatoes (I used Yukon gold), chopped
    • 1 medium onion, chopped
    • 3 cloves garlic, minced or pasted
    • 3-4 small parsnips, chopped
    • 1 medium sweet potato, chopped
    • 1 bell pepper, chopped
    • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
    • 3-4 cups of broth (I used chicken, but you can use vegetable to make this completely vegetarian)
    • Greek yogurt (for topping, optional)
    • Naan bread, for serving (optional – but delicious!)

20130412-145525.jpg
20130412-145725.jpg

I know what you’re thinking – that looks like a lot of ingredients! But it’s mostly vegetables, and you don’t have to use the exact combination that I did above. I chose what I did based on what I had received in my box, or had around the house (or just things that I love) and it did turn out delicious but don’t feel like you have to stick to this combination. If you don’t like or can’t find parsnips (they taste like peppery carrots) then substitute carrots or just leave them out altogether. I promise it won’t destroy the dish :-). The same goes for just about any other ingredient.

I wanted to make this dish in the Crockpot because it’s just so nice to come home to a fully-cooked meal, and all the ingredients lend themselves really well to low and slow cooking. However, the recipe requires a lot of chopping so I knew I wasn’t going to do it in the morning before work (crazy talk!) – so my strategy was to chop and put everything (minus the broth) in the inner liner the night before (I have a Crockpot that you can remove the liner which is an amazing feature), cover it with plastic wrap and store in the fridge until morning, then just pop it into the crockpot base in the morning, add chicken stock and go! I think it turned out beautifully this way but if you are cooking this on a weekend or you have more time in the morning, you can definitely mix everything together and cook it without going through the refrigerator step.

20130412-145957.jpg

Place everything in the crockpot (minus the last three ingredients if storing overnight, or just minus the last two if making right away) and cook on low heat for 6-8 hours. Or high heat for 3-4. I always shy away from high heat on my crockpot because it doesn’t ever seem to need it, but that’s just me. When time is up, just stir together and enjoy! I used a potato masher on mine for just a few ‘mashes’ to break up some of the potato chunks but I definitely left the whole stew chunky overall. I served it up with some toasted Naan bread (store-bought, toasted in the oven for 10 minutes at 400 degrees) and a big dollop of Greek yogurt on top. Yum! I doesn’t get much better than this…

20130412-150222.jpg
20130412-150523.jpg

Enjoy! 🙂

9 responses to “Indian-spiced Lentil & Vegetable Stew Recipe

  1. yourothermotherhere

    It sounds delicious and I like all the ingredients. My crockpot liner comes out too, so your idea of making it ahead and refrigerating it until the next day is a great idea.

    • Thank you! 🙂 it worked out really well. I came up with it while trying to find a solution for the fact that there was no way I was going to be able to do all that prep on a weekday morning. I hope it helps you too! 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Gotta love crockpots! Great recipe 🙂

  3. I am drooling … this looks so good! I’m vegan so would use veggie broth and a vegan greek “yogurt”. Is the Naan break vegan … maybe it has ghee in it? Thanks for sharing this … definitely going to try it!

    • Naan bread is made with yogurt so it wouldn’t be vegan but you could bake your own vegan version or use another vegan bread! And the main veggies are delicious on their own without the bread! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting.

  4. Oh yum! That looks delicious. I love my slow cooker too!

Leave a Comment

