Homemade Pickled Beets

Boy – what a busy weekend! I can’t believe it’s Monday already. Yesterday, I gave my food processor a work-out and made a bunch of different recipes that I can’t wait to write up this week. But first I have to write about a project I undertook last week – homemade pickled beets. And boy, are they delicious! In my box from Washington’s Green Grocer last week, I got some beets. Last time I got beets, I roasted them and threw them on top of salads. Don’t get me wrong, that was delicious, but this time I wanted to try something new and all I could think about was the beets of my childhood – cold pickled beets. So I found a recipe from Ms. Martha Stewart (see it here) and followed it loosely and ended up with some delicious beets!

Homemade Pickled Beets
*Inspired by a Martha Stewart recipe*

20130415-114350.jpg

Ingredients:

    – 2 medium sized beets
    – 1 teaspoon coriander seeds
    – ½ teaspoon mustard seeds
    – 1teaspoon black peppercorns
    – 1 teaspoon dried dill (or 2-3 teaspoons fresh)
    – a pinch of ground cloves
    – ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
    – 2 dried bay leaves
    – 2 crushed garlic cloves
    – 1 cup apple cider vinegar
    – 1 cup dry white wine
    – 1 tablespoon salt
    – ¼ cup sugar

Trim the beets of any greens and place in a pot. Don’t throw out those greens! They are delicious sautéed with garlic and oil as you would cook spinach. Cover the beets with water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer and cook until the beets are tender – 25 to 30 minutes. Drain the beets and let stand until cool enough to handle. (I was pretty impatient with this part and ended up trying to peel rather hot beets!) Peel beets and slice into rounds.

While the beets are simmering, mix the next 7 ingredients in your pickling container. I used plastic shredded cheese containers from the deli that I had saved – but mason jars or any other container would work fine :-). I’m just obsessed with re-using old containers. I had two containers, so I split my spices between the two. When the beets are sliced, layer the slices into your container(s).

20130415-114633.jpg

Mix together vinegar, wine, salt and sugar in a small saucepan (I used the same one I had used to cook the beets, which was now empty) and bring to a boil. Stir until the salt and sugar have dissolved and immediately remove from the heat and pour over the beets. Cover and refrigerate the beets for at least 8 hours (I did mine overnight). Serve cold or at room temperature as a side dish, or sliced over a salad. On Saturday, for lunch I made myself a salad of red leaf lettuce, cucumbers, pecans, tomatoes and sliced beets with some oil and vinegar – delish! Check it out.

20130415-114513.jpg

I hope your enjoy this recipe! It was so quick and easy and definitely delicious. 🙂

2 responses to “Homemade Pickled Beets

Leave a Comment

