Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (for pasta)

So this past Sunday I gave my food processor a serious workout. I originally got it out to make my classic hummus and figured while I had it out I’d knock out some other projects as well. I made some homemade breadcrumbs (I stash leftover pieces of bread in a bag in my freezer, and when I accumulate a few I grind them up for breadcrumbs). And I made some pasta sauce for dinner; specifically, roasted red pepper sauce.

20130417-115732.jpg

Yum! This sauce was so delicious – I’ve been eating the leftovers all week. And it was super easy – and super healthy! First, I roasted up a red pepper in the oven. You’ll actually need three for the recipe but I had two already roasted that I had stashed in my freezer a while back. Alternatively, you can use jarred roasted red peppers – it’s up to you.

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (for pasta)


    – 3 roasted red peppers, chopped (jarred or freshly roasted)
    – ½ medium onion, chopped
    – 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced or pasted
    – 2 tablespoons fresh basil (or two teaspoons dried)
    – ½ cup canned white beans
    – ½ cup milk (I used skim)
    – 1/3 cup grated cheese – parmesan or romano
    – 2 tablespoons butter


To roast the pepper(s), place them either on a baking sheet under the broiler, or on the stove top directly on the burner (if you have a gas stove), and turn the peppers every few minutes until they are black all over (or mostly black). Let the peppers cool, then remove the skins (a paper towel does a lovely job of this) then seed and slice them. I do this whenever peppers are on sale, or if I get a bunch of them in my weekly produce box, and stash them in the freezer. That way they are done and ready to cook with when I need them.

20130417-115834.jpg

Place the roasted red peppers, half an onion and two or three cloves of garlic in the food processor and pulse into a fine chop or mince. Alternatively, you can chop these ingredients by hand, but I already had my food processor out and was feeling lazy. Also, I was hoping this step would stop me from having to puree the finish sauce. Add the pureed onion, peppers, and garlic to a medium skillet with a few tablespoons of olive oil and fresh basil (or a few teaspoons of dried). Cook for 8-10 minutes over medium heat.

Meanwhile, puree ½ cup of canned white beans (approximately half a can) with ½ cup of milk in the food processor. Add the resulting puree to the pan with the onions and peppers and stir to combine. Cook 2-3 more minutes, or until heated through. I had read in Rachel Ray’s magazine that you could use a puree of white beans and milk to replace cream in recipes – and it worked beautifully in this recipe! Talk about a great way to add fiber and cut down on fat :-). Finally, stir in two tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup of cheese into the sauce and serve over your favorite pasta! I served mine over tortellini and it was delicious. As a final note, the resulting sauce was still on the chunky side (with bits of red pepper) rather than a completely smooth sauce. It didn’t bother me at all, but you could also puree the cooked pepper/onion mixture with the milk and beans and then return it to the pan for a smoother sauce.

4 responses to “Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (for pasta)

  1. Yummy! Love the tip for replacing cream with white beans and milk, that is genius.

  2. Pingback: Quick & Easy Shrimp Scampi | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Pingback: 10 Healthy Make-Ahead MealsAtlas Drug and Nutrition

Leave a Comment

