Let’s Remix This Business: Tabbouleh Salad

As I mentioned yesterday, I spent most of Sunday making various foods – all with my food processor. I whipped up a batch of my classic hummus, made some breadcrumbs, and made roasted red pepper sauce for my pasta for dinner that night. I think I washed and re-washed my food processor about 5 times that day. In fact, I spent so much time in the kitchen that my cat Grace decided to sit on the windowsill and keep me company!

20130418-145857.jpg

But she quickly decided I wasn’t that interesting and went to do what cats do best – take a nap.

20130418-145940.jpg

Back to the cooking, I had some tomatoes leftover that I hadn’t used to make bruschetta, and a cucumber that I needed to use up because it was starting to look a little watery – so I decided to make one of my favorites, tabbouleh salad! I have previous written about the recipe for tabbouleh salad in my post on another favorite – tandoori chicken but this time I had an idea. Instead of going through the process of chopping up all the ingredients (especially the parsley – I’m not particularly good at chopping any herbs), why couldn’t I remix the recipe a little bit and use the food processor? Since the tomatoes I had leftover were little baby grape tomatoes, I especially didn’t want to spend the time chopping each one up into little pieces. So let’s remix this business…

Tabbouleh Salad – Remixed

    – 1 cup water
    – 3/4 cup bulgur
    – 1 teaspoon ground cumin
    – 1 lemons, zested and juiced
    – 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
    – 3/4 cup flat-leaf parsley
    – 4 scallions, whites and greens
    – 1 cup grape or cherry tomatoes
    – 1/2 seedless cucumber, peeled and chopped
    – Salt

Just like before, start by making the bulgur wheat. Boil a cup of water (I heated mine in the microwave – quick and effective). Place the bulgur in a large heat-safe bowl, and add the boiling water. Let stand for 15 minutes.

Place the tomatoes you are using (really any kind will do – I used grape tomatoes I had hanging around) in the food processor and pulse until diced. You can chop the tomatoes as finely as you like but generally bite-sized pieces are the preferred size, you don’t want to puree them. Dump the tomatoes into the bowl with the bulgur wheat (if the 15 minutes is up), or alternatively add them to a separate bowl. Don’t worry about cleaning out the inside of the food processor – it’s all going to the same place! 🙂

Next, add the scallions and parsley to the food processor. I chopped the scallions in half just to make it easier to fit them in the processor, but left the parsley in one big bunch (like you would when making pesto – that was really my inspiration for this method). Add the lemon zest, juice, olive oil, salt, and cumin to the processor and process (adding more olive oil as needed) until the mixture is the consistency of pesto.

20130418-150116.jpg

Toss the parsley-scallion “pesto”, tomatoes and bulgur wheat together and enjoy! I was so thrilled at how quick and easily this came together! 🙂 I’ve been eating this salad tossing on to of greens all week as a lunch – it’s especially delicious with a little oil and vinegar!

20130418-150215.jpg

3 responses to “Let’s Remix This Business: Tabbouleh Salad

  1. You’ve got a gorgeous cat!

  2. Pingback: “Greek-Style” Tabbouleh Salad | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

