Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Brownies

A while back, a friend of mine who follows the Paleo diet let me try a bite of her Larabar that she was snacking on. Delicious! But when I checked it out at the store, those little bars are anywhere from $1.00-$2.50 each. Holy cow! I thought to myself – “I’m not paying that!” So I decided to figure out how to make them instead.

After searching through various Pinterest recipes, I noticed a basic trend to the recipe for making these bars. Then I found this post with a recipe for ‘Raw, Vegan Brownies’ which is basically the same recipe formula as the larabars. You’re just making a chocolatey, nutty, Larabar! The concept of these raw brownies appealed to me the most, so that’s what I decided to try first. When I embarked on this recipe, I did not, I repeat – did not expect these to taste like brownies. I was fully prepared for them to taste good, like chocolate snack bars – but not like brownies. But I was shocked to find that they actually do taste like brownies! Moist, delicious, chewy brownies! Yum! 🙂

20130419-134213.jpg

Raw, Vegan (Gluten-Free!) Brownies


    – 1 cup dates, pitted
    – 1 cup nuts (I used pecans because it’s what I had, but walnuts would also be delicious!)
    – ¼ cup cocoa powder

Place all ingredients in the food processor and process until combined (it will be a pretty sticky ball – I had to push it back down near the blades at least twice with a spoon – with the processor off of course!). This was yet another project I undertook during my Sunday food processor extravaganza! When finished, push the ball into a small glass container and spread into a smooth layer. Freeze for 1 hour and then cut into squares or bars. I wrapped my finished squares in little squares of wax paper and then stored them all together in a ziplock bag.

20130419-134323.jpg

Tips for this Recipe
The date mixture is super sticky and (I’ll be honest) not a lot of fun to try to manipulate! But I did pick a few tips for working with it. Get whatever you’re working with wet with a little water (i.e. hands, spatula, knife when you’re cutting) and the dates mixture won’t stick to your hands as much. Also, I didn’t line my glass pan and then it took quite a bit of effort to cut/lift out the brownies so in the future I’ll probably line the pan with parchment paper or wax paper so they are easier to remove. And when cutting the “brownies”, I dipped the knife in a little hot water and it definitely helped cut the squares!

I hope you’ll give this recipe a try – it really is super delicious! 🙂

5 responses to “Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free Brownies

  1. summerraspberries

    Hmmmmm they look so delicious!

  2. Yum!! I can’t wait to try this!! 🙂 I’ve got a fudge recipe on my blog that you might like too 🙂

Leave a Comment

