Beef Stroganoff

Yesterday was another dreary day in DC. More cold rain. I am not a fan. But it did call for another comfort food classic for dinner! Beef stroganoff. 🙂

I have to admit that my love of beef stroganoff goes back to my Hamburger Helper days. Once upon a time, my mom was raising my sister and I on her own and we went through what my mom likes to call our “mac’n’cheese days.” These days also included a fair share of Hamburger Helper. There are no complaints here as I find the beef stroganoff version of hamburger helper to be very delicious. Or at least I did back in the day. Now my no-processed foods lifestyle does not allow me to eat such things, and not that I’d want to now that I know there is partially hydrogenated oil, MSG, hydrolyzed vegetable proteins and artificial colors lurking in that box. But now I have something better – a recipe for quick, homemade beef stroganoff. The original recipe is from Rachel Ray and I’ve only made a few changes based on my experience with it. And, let me tell you, it’s delicious!

20130501-125427.jpg

Lemon Thyme Beef Stroganoff
Serves 4-6

    – 1 pound ground beef
    – 1, 12 ounce package of egg noodles
    – 1 onion, chopped
    – 2-3 cloves garlic, minced or pasted
    – 2 ½ teaspoons dried thyme
    – ½ cup chicken stock or broth
    – 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt
    – 1 ½ teaspoons Dijon mustard
    – Juice and zest of 1 lemon

Cook the egg noodles according to their package directions (usually about 7 minutes) then drain.

Meanwhile, brown the ground beef (season with salt and pepper) and drain (if the beef you buy has a low enough fat content, you might not need to drain it). Return the beef to the pan and add the onion, garlic, and thyme. Cook for until the onion is translucent, approximately 5 minutes. Add the broth and cook until the liquid reduces by half – approximately 5 minutes. Lower the heat and stir in the yogurt, mustard, lemon zest and juice. Stir thoroughly and allow to heat through on the stove. Serve in bowls with a side salad or other favorite vegetable.

7 responses to “Beef Stroganoff

  1. Yum! Hamburger Helper brings childhood flashbacks to me as well but I have not had it in a long time. I’m saving this recipe to give it a try – sounds and looks just as good as I remember from childhood…perhaps even better!

  2. Pingback: Announcing: Featured Foxy Foodie! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Trying a variation with what I have tonight. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Pingback: 30 Minute Beef Stroganoff Recipe

  5. Pingback: Quick and easy recipe for "hamburger helper" style - Clean, Lean and Healthy

Leave a Comment

