How to Clean a Yoga Mat

As I mentioned before my wonderful mom bought me a yoga mat and carrying case last weekend when I went to visit her. 🙂 She really is the best! It was such a nice surprise in the morning before her and I headed to yoga class together. Now I can look like a “professional” on my journey to becoming a yogi. When I got to class my bubble burst a little bit when I found my hands (and sometimes feet) slipping and sliding through my asanas. When I got the chance, I went to my trusty know-it-all Google to figure out the problem.

After a little research, I found that new yoga mats can be a little slick until the top layer is essentially “worn down” with use. But, I did find a few tips on how to clean your yoga mat and, in turn, speed along the “wearing down” process. I found posts that recommend cleaning your yoga mat after every practice, and some that said only once a week. Currently, I only go to class once a week (I’m going to start trying for twice) so I’m going to go with once a week for now.

20130506-210557.jpg

Combine equal parts water and vinegar (I used white distilled vinegar – my favorite cleaning product – but I saw some recipes that used apple cider vinegar too) in a spray bottle. Mist your yoga mat, and allow to air dry before rolling back up for storage. It really is that easy! I have already noticed that my mat is a little easier to use, and I already use vinegar as a cleaning agent due to its anti-bacterial, anti-fungal and anti-mold properties so I know it’ll be great for disinfecting my yoga mat as well! 🙂

2 responses to “How to Clean a Yoga Mat

  1. Thank you for this very useful tip. I will give it a go.

Leave a Comment

