Creamy Caesar-Style Dressing

After my Body Pump class on Saturday, I was looking for a quick lunch to pull together that would have plenty of protein and other nutrients to re-fuel my body. I also had a ton of lettuce in my fridge that needed to be used before it went bad (continuing my never ending saga of finding a way to “use up” things in my house before they go bad). I knew a salad would be a quick and easy lunch, but not one that was particularly protein-rich, unless I made a few additions to it. So I gathered up my usual salad ingredients – some lettuce and cucumbers and I topped it off with some canned white beans and some leftover chicken I had in the fridge. I was just about to top it off with my standard vinaigrette when I had an epiphany. If I made a creamy-style salad dressing using Greek yogurt as the base, that would up the protein content even more! Fun fact: Greek yogurt (depending on the brand) has approximately 23 grams of protein in one cup of yogurt. I use the Stonyfield Organic, Nonfat variety. And thus, this recipe for a Creamy Caesar-Style Dressing was born! I was more than a little stoked that it came out so delicious, since Caesar salad is one of my absolute favorite foods.

20130520-112013.jpg

Creamy Caesar-Style Salad Dressing
Serves four

    – 1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
    – 2 tablespoons lemon juice
    – ¼ cup Dijon mustard
    – 3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, grated
    – 2 small cloves garlic, minced or pasted (alternatively, use about 1 tablespoon granulated garlic, to your taste)
    – Salt and freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
    – 3-4 tablespoons olive oil, or until the dressing becomes the right consistency

I’m usually pretty ‘stuck in a rut’ when it comes to my salads and almost always make some version of a balsamic vinaigrette, but this is definitely a keeper that I’m going to be using very often! Who knew that you could make a healthy, creamy Caesar dressing? Yum!

8 responses to “Creamy Caesar-Style Dressing

  1. Pingback: Turkey Hummus Wrap | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  2. Is greek yoghurt healthy? dint know that. can one take it as a snack when they are on a weight control lifestyle

    • Indeed – Greek yogurt is very healthy! I use the kind with 0% fat and it’s very high in protein which means that it keeps you full longer so you don’t snack as much. I know some people who snack on it plain but personally it’s a little too tangy for me on it’s own so I like to add just a little bit of honey, or fruit, or granola. It’s one of my favorite snacks!

  3. Pingback: Summer Chicken Caesar Pasta Salad for a Snowy, Winter Night! | windycitywanderer

  4. what is the serving size measurement

    • The recipe makes about a cup of dressing which should be enough for 4-6 salads depending on how big they are and how much dressing you like! 🙂 I’d say a serving size is 3-4 tablespoons but that’s just a guesstimate! 🙂

Leave a Comment

