Green Cleaner: Bathroom Cleaner

One of my all-time least favorite chores is cleaning the bathroom. I’m sort of a neat-freak, so it still gets done, but I definitely avoid it for as long as possible. In contrast, I’m a big fan of doing dishes. I don’t know what it is – but I find the process calming. And it’s the solution to one of my biggest pet peeves – dishes in the sink. πŸ™‚

So last weekend I knew I needed to get around to cleaning my bathroom. I won’t say how long it had been, but it had been too long. Living alone allows you to procrastinate like that. I had officially used up the last of my conventional shower cleaner – which meant it was time to find a green cleaning solution for cleaning the shower. And I sure picked the perfect shower to test it on considering how dirty it was! I should have taken a before picture, but I didn’t have a ton of faith that green cleaning was going to work as well as it did. Boy was I impressed!

After scanning through Pinterest and Google, I found that most sources agreed on using a mixture of 50% warm vinegar and 50% blue dawn dish soap (they are all very adamant about the ‘blue’ part, oddly enough) to clean the shower. It can’t be that easy, can it?

Well let me tell you, it is.

I microwaved a cup of vinegar until it was just warm (about a minute) and then added it to my spray bottle along with a cup of dawn dish soap. Dawn dish soap really is a miracle worker as it’s also an ingredient in my homemade spot remover and the first recipe for my homemade laundry detergent. I shook the spray bottle to combine and then sprayed it all over the shower (walls/faucet, shelves, everything) and the sink, for good measure. I let the mixture sit for two hours (while I ran out to do some errands), and came home and wiped everything down with a combination of a scrub brush and a sponge. It did require a little scrubbing in some of the dirtier areas, but I don’t mind that. And considering how dirty the shower was – the mixture really cut through the scum like magic! This will definitely be my go-to shower cleaner from now on!

20130522-091320.jpg

The mixture can’t be made ahead of time since I think the vinegar being warm is a key component, but I also don’t think it’s overly time consuming to mix up a batch right before you need to clean. The 2 cup portion (1 cup of each ingredient) I made was completely used up cleaning my shower and sink, so none of it went to waste.

I’ve heard a few people say that they don’t like completely switching to green cleaning products because using them doesn’t make the house “smell clean.” Unfortunately, that “clean smell” from most conventional cleaning products is usually bleach and/or other harsh chemicals. That smell isn’t necessary to know that something is clean! And I don’t know if those people haven’t smelled hot vinegar but – whoa, does that smell clean to me! πŸ™‚

What is your least favorite chore?
Do you have any surprisingly favorite chores?

6 responses to “Green Cleaner: Bathroom Cleaner

  1. Awesome!! Did you know you can pour distilled vinegar in the toilet and leave the lid open for an hour or two and it helps neutralize any odors in the bathroom?!

  2. I’ve ordered some vinegar in my shopping this weekend. I’m inspired! Fab post x

  3. I would have to say my least favorite chore is cleaning the shower. A chore I do not mind doing so much is laundry.

    I have never tried the vinegar / dawn solution before. I’m actually almost out of my cleaning products for the bathroom so maybe I will give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

    • I completely agree with you about favorite/least favorite chores! Although sometimes my motivation runs out before I get to the folding part of the laundry. lol!

      You’re welcome! I hope you like using this as a cleaning solution – it’s definitely cheaper than buying bathroom cleaner.

Leave a Comment

