Living Life With a Kind Spirit

Happy Friday everyone! I hope everyone has a relaxing, happy, and healthful Memorial Day weekend planned! Personally, I’m thankful to have a long weekend off of work (I’m taking through Tuesday off) and to be able to spend that time with my wonderful family. I hope everyone else is getting the same opportunity.

An important part of a healthy life is a positive attitude. For a long time, I was a rather negative and angry person – and I’ve been making a conscious effort to change that about myself. I’m not perfect of course, but I think I’m doing better at looking at others with a kind perspective, rather than from a place of judgment. It’s a hard change to make – and definitely one that takes a dedicated effort (at least for me) as I find my natural reaction is not to act with kindness. To start this long weekend off on the right foot, I wanted to share a few different tools with you all that help me to see the world in a different light.

First, a story my Mom shared with my through email from a series called ‘Kerrying On’ by Kerry Patterson. She emailed the story to me, but I didn’t want to copy and paste it here as Mr. Patterson has a blog and the story is in full at this link. I know I appreciate readers coming to my page so I wouldn’t want to take any away from him! (although he has LOTS more readers than me!) The story basically talks about a childhood experience that helped him see others in a kind light – the way you would view a beloved family member. It’s a short read, and it’s totally worth it so please check it out if you have the time. I read it years ago, and I’ve often thought of it since then when tough situations present themselves.

Second, the other day on Facebook I clicked on this video shared by a friend. I was expecting it to be something funny or silly – but it was a really meaningful look at how we view other people. Basically, the conscious choice we make on how to react to situations. It is a long(ish) video, but I promise you it’s worth it. It’s from a Commencement speech delivered by David Foster Wallace.

Finally, a couple of inspirational graphics. You know how much I love these things. And here’s a few more.

20130524-101720.jpg

20130524-101743.jpg

Have a peaceful and healthful weekend! 🙂

5 responses to “Living Life With a Kind Spirit

  1. Great start to the weekend! Have a fab time with your family x

  2. I love how honest you are. xo I hope you have a marvelously relaxing weekend and I intend on doing the same! Swing by the weekend blog party too, if you get a chance. 😉

  3. Oh, and I love that Oprah quote!

Leave a Comment

