June Goals

So I borrowed this idea for tons of other bloggers out there – and decided to set myself some monthly goals, starting with June. I’ve found that my blog is a great way to track things and to hold myself accountable – because I know I’ll be reporting about it to you all! 🙂

Once upon a time I heard that goals are most beneficial when they are very specific. For example, “Eat three servings of fruits and vegetables every day” is a better goal than “eat healthier.” It makes sense, because then you have a measurable way to track your progress. I tried to incorporate this idea into my goals below, and I’ll report on my progress at the end of the month!

Goals for June

1. Eat at least non-fruit snack per day.

I’m really good at eating lots of fruit in my diet, but I’m not as good at incorporating vegetables and other healthy foods (i.e. nuts, seeds). Sometimes both of my snacks in a day are fruit, and fruit is high in sugar – so I definitely need to diversify my diet. I’m hoping this goal will help 🙂

2. Make time for yoga at least once a week.

For the most part, I’ve been doing this – but there was a week or two stretch where I was doing two days of strength training with 3-4 days of running instead of taking time for yoga. When I went back to it, I was reminded of the feeling of peace yoga gives me – and that it’s an important part of my fitness routine.

3. Run two miles without stopping

I haven’t shared this with you all yet – but last week at the gym I ran a mile without stopping for the first time in my life. I literally almost started crying at the gym I was so happy. As someone who struggled through high school gym class just trying to get by without attracting attention, it was a big deal for me. So why not try for two? This goal may be a little ambitious, and I debated setting the goal at 1.5 miles, but I figure – go big or go home!

Your turn! What are some of your goals?
What are your favorite healthy (non-fruit) snacks? I could really use ideas for this one!

5 responses to “June Goals

  1. *thumbs up* You can do it!! 😀

  2. I have a little bit of full fat yogurt, chia seeds and walnuts (maybe with some honey!) for a mid-morning snack. Or a little pot of hummus and carrot sticks. Eating vegetables in work isn’t easy, most of them need cooking!

    • Those are both great suggestions! Hummus is definitely one of my go-tos – I just have to remember to keep sliced veggies like carrots or celery in the house to eat it with! 🙂

  3. Pingback: June Goals Update | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

