Grilled Asparagus

I’m so happy that spring is finally here! The farmer’s markets are open, and all the wonderful warm-weather produce is starting to show up. One of my absolute favorite vegetables is asparagus. Fortunately for me, my friend’s dad has a garden and whenever she visits him she comes home with presents for me – this time, some home-grown asparagus!

I know there are many great asparagus recipes (like my balsamic glazed asparagus pasta) but my favorite way to eat asparagus is grilled. Something about grilling asparagus really brings out the flavor – and it’s so quick and easy! You can make this recipe on an outdoor or indoor grill (either a George Foreman or cast-iron grill pan).

20130605-102033.jpg

Grilled Asparagus
Serves four.

    – One large bunch asparagus, rinsed and trimmed
    – 3 tablespoons olive oil
    – 1 clove garlic, minced (or 2 teaspoons granulated garlic) – optional
    – Salt and pepper to taste

Toss the asparagus with the olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper. The garlic in this recipe is completely optional, sometimes I grill asparagus with it and sometimes without and both ways are delicious. Depending on the thickness of the asparagus, grill over medium-high heat for 3-5 minutes. It’s a lot less time than you’d think! 🙂 You want the asparagus to still be crisp and bright green.

This is my favorite side dish to serve with steak or other grilled meat. And it’s quick and easy to prepare right on the grill with whatever else you’re cooking. Definitely my go-to side dish!

What is your favorite spring vegetable?

4 responses to “Grilled Asparagus

  1. This is my favourite way to eat it too – absolutely easy and tasty.

  2. Do you know I’ve never tried asparagus?!?! It isn’t that I wouldn’t, I’ve just never thought to order it at a restaurant and my mom never made it for us when I was growing up, so…. haha, I should though! 😀

    • You definitely should try it! I was sort of the same way – my mom never made it when I was growing up so I didn’t try it until college but then I fell in love! 🙂 It’s super easy to make, too!

Leave a Comment

