Protein-Rich, Whole Grain Cornbread

On Saturday, when I hosted my BBQ Chicken dinner and a movie girls’ night, I also made a couple of delicious side dishes (if I do say so myself). First up, I was going to make corn on the cob but my corn had mutinied and dried out on me. To be honest, it was my own fault as I had basically forgotten it was in the house. I was doing so well with using stuff before it went bad, that I was bound to slip up some time.

So I needed a plan B. I had already gotten the combination of corn on the cob and BBQ chicken stuck in my head, so after digging through my cupboards for an idea I figured it out – cornbread!

20130613-091940.jpg

No, not “from a box” cornbread – but made from scratch cornbread. I was pretty sure I had all the basic ingredients. Now to search Allrecipes for a recipe…

I found a recipe on Allrecipes using sour cream, which I was pretty excited about as I use Greek yogurt in place of sour cream for just about everything. Not to mention the other 5 thousand things I use Greek yogurt for. The recipe required quite a bit of adaptation since it used all purpose flour (and I only keep whole wheat in the house), and I also only had soy milk on hand since I’ve been experimenting with using it in my smoothies instead of regular milk. However, the food fairy godmother was on my side and the cornbread ended up turning out great! It was rich and definitely has a ton of protein in it from the Greek yogurt. It’s definitely a great side dish for BBQ or chili – I might make some the next time I make Cincinnati Chili in the Crock Pot.

20130613-091907.jpg

Protein-Rich, Whole Grain Cornbread
Makes eight individual servings (if you can limit yourself to one piece of bread! :-)).

    – ½ cup whole wheat flour
    – 1 cup cornmeal
    – ¼ cup sugar
    – ½ teaspoon baking powder
    – ½ teaspoon baking soda
    – ½ teaspoon salt
    – 1 egg
    – 1 cup Greek yogurt
    – 1/3 cup milk (I used soy milk – not sure how much it would affect the recipe to use regular)
    – ¼ cup melted butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease (I used coconut oil which worked brilliantly) a 9×5 inch baking dish (this is the size I used and the dish was VERY full, like in danger of making a mess – but it thankfully didn’t. You may want to use a slightly larger pan).

Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Add wet ingredients and stir to combine, but do not over stir. Mix until the ingredients just come together.

Pour into prepared baking dish and bake at 400 degrees for 35 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Leave a Comment

