Parmesan Roasted Broccoli

Along with the BBQ Chicken and cornbread I made on Saturday night, I whipped up a quick side of some Parmesan Roasted Broccoli. Along with grilled asparagus, it’s one of my all time favorite “quick and easy” side dishes. I’m always amazed at how delicious such simple meals can be! 🙂

20130617-115240.jpg

Parmesan Roasted Broccoli
Serves three to four.

    – 1 head of broccoli, cut into florets (don’t throw away the stems! Stash them in the freezer and once you get 3-4 you can make cream of broccoli soup – blog post to come!)
    – 3 tablespoons olive oil
    – Salt and pepper
    – ¼ cup Parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toss the broccoli florets (you can peel and dice the stem and include that in with the florets if you wish!) with the olive oil and salt and pepper and place in a baking dish. Roast for 10 minutes, tossing occasionally. Top with the Parmesan cheese and roast 1-2 minutes more, until cheese is melted.

Speaking of using up broccoli stems, I read this wonderful article from Organic Gardening about using up food scraps that we would normally throw away and I found it truly inspiring. I already do a few of these tips, like saving broccoli stems, but there are so many more I can now incorporate. One thing not mentioned in the article that I do, is I keep a large plastic container in my freezer for onion skins, carrot skins, carrot tops, scraps of garlic, onion roots, herb stems, etc. Once the container is full, I use these items to make my own stock! You can get a delicious stock out of the items you would usually throw away. It’s such a healthy and frugal way to keep your food budget on track!

6 responses to “Parmesan Roasted Broccoli

  1. I’m going to try this. Broccoli is one of the few “vegetables” I will actually eat (You can keep your asparagus to yourself though! Ha! Ha!) ; )

  2. I love roasted broccoli! Thanks for the post.

  3. OMG that looks so good! I love broccoli sauteed with garlic and olives too! I will definitely have to try this one as well.

Leave a Comment

