Homemade Make-Up Remover Wipes!

The other day I found a wonderful pin on Pinterest about how to make your own baby wipes/make-up remover wipes – you could even use this method to make disinfecting wipes! (Which I plan to do as soon as I run out of the store-bought ones!)

The original blogger wrote such a great tutorial, that I’m just going to link to her tutorial at White House Black Shutters. Plus, I was sort of rushing when I put these together so I didn’t stop to take pictures along the way.

20130618-145422.jpg

Homemade Make-Up Remover Wipes


– 2 cups filtered water
– 2 tablespoons coconut oil
– 10 drops tea tree oil (optional)
– ½ roll of Bounty select-a-size towels
– Medium-sized plastic container (about the circumference of the roll of towels or larger)

Mix the water, oil, and tea tree oil together. It’s best to do this at room temperature or slightly warmed as coconut oil has a melting point of 75 degrees. Cut the roll of paper towels in half with a knife (this was easier than it sounded) and place in the container full of the water/oil mixture. Let the towels soak for 5-10 minutes before squishing down into the container and putting on the lid. It looks like it won’t fit – but it does!

Turn the container upside down and allow to soak for at least 30 minutes. Then turn back over and open and remove the cardboard paper towel center. Tada! Pop-up wipes!

Coconut oil makes a great make-up remover so these wipes work really well! I also use coconut oil as my “face wash” (using the oil cleansing method) so I’m using these as face wash wipes as well. My favorite part is that you can pull out a few and place them in a ziplock bag for travel purposes. I’m definitely using them on my trip next week!

6 responses to “Homemade Make-Up Remover Wipes!

  1. Ooooh, I am the biggest fan of both tea tree and coconut oil! I will have to try this one for sure. I usually just use straight jojoba oil to take off my makeup and clean my face, and I have found that it works great and is so nourishing for my delicate eye area. Nice share– thanks!

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m a huge fan of coconut oil and tea tree oil too! Jojoba oil sounds like another great option 🙂 I’m sure you could use it in place of the coconut oil in this recipe!

      • Arrrgh!! I have everything I need to make this except the container! So frustrating as I am eager to make it!

      • That is frustrating! I lucked out that I had a Tupperware that worked for it. I hope you find one soon! Let me know how they turn out 🙂 especially if you substitute the jojoba oil 🙂

      • Ok. So I made them. They are not pretty since I had a really hard time cutting up the PT and ended up slicing it with a serrated bread knife lol! I used the coconut oil and tea tree. They smell fresh and seem to work well! I wore heavy black eyeliner yesterday and they did a decent job taking it off. I then just used water to rinse off the residue and my face felt clean and silky. I’ll have to use for a few days to see if they make me break out but I think they are good! Thanks again.

      • I’m glad they seem to be working so far! 🙂 Cutting a roll of paper towels in half was definitely tricky and something I’ll have to get used to too! But so far so good with the wipes!

Leave a Comment

