Travel-Friendly Snacks

So on my aforementioned work trip, I was vaguely concerned about starving to death. This happens to me every time I travel. I’m a big snacker, and I obviously love to cook for myself, so when I’m away from my home kitchen and forced to eat on other people’s schedule I tend to starve. Ok, I’m being dramatic. It’s not legitimate starving. Like, I haven’t eaten in three hours when I’m used to eating every two kind of starving. I realize this is a first world problem.

Also, thanks to Murphy’s Law, my work flight ended up on the same week that I was traveling for personal reasons, so I get back late Thursday night and fly to Florida first thing Friday morning. I’m spending less than 12 hours back in DC before heading back to the exact same airport to leave again. I’m exhausted just thinking about it. Snacks are going to be needed to power through.

To solve both of these problems, I decided to pack my bag with snacks like a squirrel packing up for the winter.

Therefore, let me share some travel-friendly snacks that I came up with! 🙂

20130625-170647.jpg

Protein/Granola-Type Bars
I didn’t want this category to be straight protein bars, as a good quality granola bar serves the same purpose. My personal favorite is Lara Bars thanks to their short-and-sweet ingredient list. Unfortunately, Lara Bars can also be very expensive. Luckily I discovered that Lara Bars are pretty reasonably priced at Target (of all places). The boxes are usually around $4 which is much better than the $2.50 a bar I’ve seen at some places (*cough*Harris Teeter*cough*). They are still a pretty pricey snack, but since they’re not an every day snack for me I accept the expense. It’s worth it to have something healthy in the cabinet in case I need a snack.

Nuts
Nuts are a great snack because they have a ton of health benefits and even though they are high in fat, it’s mostly the heart-healthy unsaturated kind. Also, that fat helps give you that “full” feeling! A handful of nuts is a great healthy snack, but watch the portion size if you eat any more than that. I was particularly excited about the bag pictured above (which I also found at Target) which is unsalted and has a wide variety of nuts (hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, etc). I also learned from the package that hazelnuts are also called ‘Filberts’ – what a dorky name for a nut! 🙂

these-motherfuckin-nutz

Nut Butter
Speaking of hazelnuts, I found these individual serving packages of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter! Delicious! They also had packets of almond butter at Target, but I stuck with the chocolate because it looked so delicious. It’s sort of like Nutella, although it does have a slightly gritty texture. I was happy to find individual packets, as apparently peanut butter counts as a gel when traveling through airport security. There’s no need to unnecessarily provoke TSA seeing as on my way back from my Orlando vacation I accidently left a half-drunk water bottle in my carry-on and I swear the guy almost threw me out of the airport. Just a friendly tip! I think it’d be a great idea to pack crackers, or some sliced up veggies to go with the nut butter – unless you’re shameless like me and sometimes eat this stuff straight from the packet. Try not to judge me.

come-on-i-like-nutella-more-than-nonfunctioning-pocket-internet

Sliced Fruits and Veggies
Sliced bell peppers, cucumbers, carrots, as well as grapes or apples all make great travel-friendly (and TSA-friendly!) snacks. And compared to the fruit and veggie boxes at the airport, you can save a bundle by packing your own. Plastic baggies were definitely my friend for this trip! 🙂

What are your favorite snacks to take with you when you travel? Is anyone else as snack-obsessed as me?

Leave a Comment

