ENERGYbits Review and Giveaway!

I was so thankful this week to be able to get back into my normal routine of working out, cooking for myself, and of course being in my own house! 🙂 I went to Body Pump on Tuesday night and I’m still feeling the soreness a few days later. I guess that’s what happens when you stop working out for a week! But I’m happy to be sore because it means that I worked hard, and that I’m making a change. The one unfortunate side-effect is that I have very little motivation to go running on these sore legs of mine. On Wednesday I did my at home yoga DVD instead. Come Thursday, I knew I had to bite the bullet and get a run in, especially since I just signed up for my first 10k in November.

20130628-094016.jpg

20130628-094051.jpg

20130628-094059.jpg

Luckily, I had a sample of ENERGYbits to try. ENERGYbits are from a new Boston-based sports nutrition company. They call the product “bits” because it isn’t a supplement – but little “bits” of real food. The bits (which to me look like little green aspirin tabs) are made from 100% organically grown spirulina algae. I love seeing a short ingredient list on a product! 🙂 I’d heard of spirulina before, mostly as an ingredient in smoothies or green juices, but I hadn’t tried it yet so I was happy to be given the opportunity! Spirulina algae (according to the company site) has:

· “the highest concentration of protein in the world and delivers a steady stream of energy, all naturally and all without sugar, caffeine, chemicals, or stomach distress,
· natural antioxidants and Omega 3s which reduce muscle inflammation,
· iron to prevent fatigue,
· chlorophyll to build the immune system,
· electrolytes to replenish mineral imbalances,
· and only one calorie per tab”

The company says the tabs (it’s recommended to take about 30 at a time) can be chewed, but that the taste can take a little getting used to, so they can also be swallowed whole. I went with the swallow-whole route. I took the tabs in groups of about 6 at a time with a swallow of water. They were pretty easy to get down. I did this right when I got home to give myself the recommended 10-15 minutes to start digesting them while I got dressed and ready to go running.

I really wanted to run outside but DC weather had other plans. I settled for running on the treadmill, but of course about an hour after my run the weather was absolutely perfect. Murphy’s Law I guess. The bits provided a steady stream of energy, and they were a convenient pre-run snack. I hate it when I have to eat a quick snack right before a run and I end up tasting peanut butter or banana for my whole run. The bits gave me energy, without leaving any taste in my mouth. I also tend to be starving the minute I end my workout, and this time I wasn’t thanks to the boost of protein pre-run. It was definitely a good thing since I finished my run around 5:00 and I didn’t have dinner with my friends planned until 7:00!

ENERGYbits come in a bag of 1,000 tabs for $115. Assuming the 30 tab serving size suggested by the company, it comes out to $3.45 per serving. I’d say that’s about on par with other high-quality sports nutrition products, but it certainly isn’t cheap. I also wish the bits came in smaller quantities, and therefore cheaper options. Shelling out $115 for a new product to try is a big commitment in my eyes. But I do find the product to be a worthwhile one, if it’s something you’re interested in.

Want to try ENERGYbits for yourself? The company has generously offered to provide a free sample to one Foxy Whole Foodie reader! Just visit the ENERGYbits website and leave a comment on this post to say one thing you find interesting or exciting about the company or product. I will select one comment using a random number generator to determine the winner! 🙂

To earn up to two extra entries in this giveaway, follow Foxy Whole Foodie on Twitter and leave a comment on this post stating that you did so. And/or, follow Foxy Whole Foodie on Facebook and leave another comment on this post stating that you did so.

This giveaway ends on Monday, July 1st, 2013 at 12:00 (midnight), EST. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, July 2nd, 2013.

Also, please check out and follow ENERGYbits on Twitter and Facebook to learn more about their products!

16 responses to “ENERGYbits Review and Giveaway!

  1. Hi Jackie!
    I’m a recreational runner and I’d LOVE to try EnergyBits- Obviously they’re a bit expensive (but seem worth it) which is why I’d love to try them first before I splurge. Keeping my fingers crossed. I followed your twitter and liked your facebook page my handle is @init4thelngrun.

    If you’d like check out my blog: init4thelongrun.wordpress.com

    Great work- keep it up!

    -Georgie

  2. I followed your twitter 🙂

  3. and liked your facebook page 🙂

  4. I like that it’s a protein. I was recently told I have to go dairy and egg free so I’m always on the lookout for protein options.

  5. Following you on Twitter!

  6. One thing I find facinating about Energybits is that it offers so much energy, with so minimal calories. It’s perfect for an athlete, or somebody looking to lose weight!

  7. I’m following you on facebook: Mint Clare D

  8. I’m following you on twitter: @DeeFitty

  9. I follow on Twitter! @kathuggs

  10. Liked on Facebook! Katie Hughes

  11. I love that these are an all natural energy booster!

  12. I love that Energybits are so simple yet so effective!

  13. I followed you on Twitter! (@kearamccull)

  14. I liked you on Facebook! (keara mccullough)

  15. Pingback: “Berry Green” Smoothie Recipes | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

