Southern Succotash

In my box from Washington’s Green Grocer last week I got some beautiful corn on the cob. One of the first things I think of when I see corn (other than eating it off the cob) is succotash. Succotash is one of my favorite side dishes, and after I created this version a few years ago it really stuck. I was really proud because it was one of the first recipes I ever created totally by myself and it turned out so well! 🙂

The idea came from a corn side dish that I ate at Bonefish Grill which had bacon and red bell pepper in it. When I tried to recreate it at home, I added lima beans and thus this succotash was born!

First, a little trick for getting corn kernels off the cob that I learned from Rachel Ray. If you turn a smaller bowl upside down inside of a larger bowl, you can brace the corn upright on the small ball, and as you cut the kernels off the cob, they are caught by the larger bowl. Check it out:

20130710-085202.jpg

20130710-085250.jpg

20130710-085321.jpg

Pretty cool, right? I still manage to get a few kernels on the counter but it’s the least-messy method I’ve found so far.

20130710-085421.jpg

Southern Succotash
Serves six.

    – 4 slices bacon, chopped
    – 3-4 medium sized cobs of corn
    – 2 cups lima beans, frozen
    – 1 red bell pepper, diced
    – 2 cloves garlic, minced or pasted
    – 1-2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
    – Salt and pepper, to taste

Sautee the chopped bacon pieces in a pan over medium heat until crisp. If there’s a lot of grease from cooking the bacon, you can drain off all but a few tablespoons. I usually use the center-cut bacon which is a little leaner and I don’t drain the bacon.

Add the red bell pepper and garlic to the bacon and grease and cook until tender, 3-4 minutes. Then add the corn and lima beans, crushed red pepper, salt, and cracked black pepper and stir to combine. Cook for another 3-4 minutes, or until the corn is tender and the lima beans and heated through.

Note: this time, I added a few diced garlic scapes since I also got them in my Washington’s Green Grocer box. They were a delicious addition!

20130710-085548.jpg

2 responses to “Southern Succotash

  1. Pingback: Caprese Pasta Salad | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  2. Pingback: Banana-Walnut Baked Oatmeal | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

