Raw Pad Thai-Style Salad

On Monday before spin class (which was much later in the evening – 7:15) I decided to try out a recipe for a Raw Pad Thai salad that I saw on the blog Oh She Glows. The salad is a mix of carrots, lettuce, zucchini, edamame, and red bell pepper with a peanut garlic sauce. Delicious! If you don’t read her blog, check it out as she makes some gorgeous (vegan) food and takes incredible photos! Her photos of this particular salad are much better than mine so definitely check them out! 🙂

20130717-114414.jpg

20130717-114419.jpg
20130717-115015.jpg

I followed the recipe almost exactly, although I substituted some iceberg for the red cabbage because my grocery store mysteriously didn’t have any cabbage. Oh well. I also substituted soy sauce in for the tamari in the sauce recipe. And let me tell you, the sauce for this salad is delicious! It may be the perfect peanut garlic sauce (although as usual I think it could use more garlic! :-)) that I’ve been looking for.

20130717-115005.jpg
20130717-115011.jpg

For the salad itself, I ended up using a peeler to make zucchini and carrot “noodles” instead of julienning them mostly because I couldn’t figure out how to get the julienne blade on my mandolin and I gave up in frustration. Oh well, next time! 🙂 This salad is delicious, crisp, and has just enough of that “Pad Thai” flavor to satisfy a craving – although it can’t replace true Pad Thai from my favorite take out place!

20130717-114353.jpg

Since I followed her recipe exactly, head over to Oh She Glows for her Rad Rainbow Raw Pad Thai Salad recipe. I enjoyed it! 🙂

Questions of the Day
What are some of your favorite recipe blogs?
Do you get most of your recipes online (from blogs or other sources) or from cookbooks and magazines?

Leave a Comment

