“Clean Eating” Banana Bread

For the past six days I have been pretty absent from the world (both real world and online world) as I recover from this nasty cold. I haven’t done much more than camp out on my couch, drink juice, eat soup, and watch endless marathons of TV shows on Netflix, between boughts of sleeping.

As of today, I’m back at work and feeling about half-way back to normal. This has been one heck of a cold! And having a cold in the middle of the summer feels downright unnatural. I guess I just associate a stuffy nose and sneezing with winter weather – do you?

On Saturday I thought I was starting to recover so I mustered up the strength to bake some banana bread. I was going completely stir-crazy from being stuck on the couch and needed some activity to take my mind off things. Also, I tend to eat a lot when I’m not feeling well – is that just me? I feel like my stomach is a black hole and I can just eat and eat. It’s terrible. And I crave the junkiest food when I’m sick – does that happen to anyone else?

So I decided on a better option – this banana bread that is so quick and easy to pull together! ๐Ÿ™‚

20130723-112830.jpg

My go-to banana bread recipe is one that was given to me by my mom. Banana bread was a staple in our house growing up and when I moved out on my own I got the recipe from her to bake for myself. The recipe is labeled “Kona Inn Banana Bread” and I suspect she got it or learned it while we were living in Hawaii when I was younger. While I love the original version, it involves a good bit of butter and sugar and I wanted to see if I could “clean it up” using a few healthier ingredients. It was a big success! The bread was slightly denser and moister than the original, but I really loved the final product! (I didn’t take any pictures of the process of making the bread because I was pretty much the walking dead from my cold)

I converted the recipe by changing the white flour to whole wheat (reducing it by 1/4 cup), using honey instead of sugar (raw, local honey), and applesauce instead of butter. I was really impressed how well it turned out!

20130723-112723.jpg

“Clean Eating” Banana Bread
Makes one loaf.

    – 1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
    – 1/2 cup honey (local, if possible)
    – 4 ripe bananas, mashed
    – 2 eggs
    – 1 cup whole wheat flour
    – 1/2 teaspoon salt
    – 1 teaspoon baking soda

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, mashing the bananas into the mixture thoroughly (I use a fork). Do not over-mix. Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil or other oil and pour the batter into the pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Note: you can easily convert this to a vegan recipe by substituting “flax eggs” for the eggs.

20130723-112929.jpg

I hope you enjoy this recipe! It comes together really quickly and is definitely a perfect example of comfort food (that you can feel good about) to get your through a not-so-great day. ๐Ÿ™‚

22 responses to ““Clean Eating” Banana Bread

  1. Wow this sounds so good! And completely clean! Thanks for the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You’re welcome – and thank you for stopping by and commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you enjoy the recipe – and I have lots of other clean, whole foods recipes on my blog. Check it out and let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Garlic Scape Pesto | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Looks great! Will definitely try this one. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Crystal City Twilighter 5k Race Recap | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  5. just tried to make this and it came out runny .. what did i do wrong?

    • First, I’m so sorry to hear it didn’t turn out! A couple questions, was it runny after baking or are you talking about the batter itself? Baking is such a picky cooking task! ๐Ÿ™‚ It can vary so much based on your oven, the humidity in your area, etc. I find it very frustrating! First, you may need to add more flour. I usually add flour until the batter is a relatively thick consistency – think pudding. Then, don’t stop baking until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean (even if it means baking it 10-15 minutes longer than in the recipe). If the top starts to get too brown, you can cover with aluminum foil and let it finish baking. I hope this helps! This bread can be a little tricky.

  6. Pingback: Slicing and Cooking and Freezing — Oh My! | the Autumn Doctor

  7. could you substitute almond flour for the whole wheat flour?

    • I think you could! I personally haven’t tried it, but I know some readers have exchanged the recipe with gluten-free flour. No one has reported back on how it works out, but I’m sure it’s worth a shot! I know that whole wheat flour is more dense than regular so you may need to increase the flour amount. I’d keep adding flour until the batter is thick – a little thicker than pancake batter – and it should work!

  8. Hi!
    I just wanted to say thank you for this recipe. It was very good! My boyfriend doesn’t eat much banana bread but he’s had three servings since it has come out of the oven ๐Ÿ™‚ I did have to bake it for 15-20 minutes longer but the end result was very tasty.

    • You are very welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so pleased that you enjoyed it! It does take a little while longer to bake because of all the “liquidy” ingredients but I love the moist texture! Thanks for letting me know how it turned out for you!

  9. Can Almomnd Flour be substituted in your bananna bread recipe?

    • It’s certainly worth a try! ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t personally tried it so I can’t guarantee the results — but please let me know how it turns out if you do try it! I’m not sure if almond flour is a 1-to-1 ratio with whole wheat so your best bet is to probably keep adding flour until the batter is a slightly thick consistency – rather than relying on measurement. I hope it turns out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Just made this and it came out great! I had to cook it about 20 minutes longer as well, but the flavor was amazing and it was very moist. My husband loved it and is not particularly fond of “healthy eating” so that was huge! Thank you!!

  11. I used whole wheat pastry flour and increased to 1 1/2 cups. I used my hand mixer as I normally would when making traditional banana bread. Total baking time was 55 minutes. Turned out perfect.

  12. I made a double batch of this on Tuesday for my daughter and her family and today I am making another double batch as it is gone already! Best.Banana. Bread. Ever. Seriously!.
    I used organic sprouted spelt flour, made my own applesauce, and used maple syrup instead of honey (I’m not a honey fan), To make sure it wasn’t too runny with the syrup I threw in a handful of oat bran and some hemp seeds. Oh, and I added some dark chocolate chips to make it more dessert like.
    Wow! So good, this is now my go-to recipe for over-ripe bananas (weekly probably).
    Thanks for this, Nancy

  13. I can’t wait to make it! looks so yummy and easy to make! how many slices do you usually get out of a standard loaf?

Leave a Comment

