Garlic Scape Pesto

While I continue my journey back to health, my eating habits haven’t been particularly exciting. In fact, my life in general hasn’t been very exciting. As I said yesterday, I’ve been living off of soup and Netflix. I did make it to Body Pump last night (my first workout in a week) and it felt great! That hour and a half in thy gym was the only time I didn’t feel all stuffy and terrible, probably because I was too busy focusing on my burning muscles. Have I mentioned I’m ready for this cold to be over and done with already?

In the meantime, I’ve found a few recipes I made over the past few weeks that hadn’t quite made it to the blog yet. Up first, garlic scape pesto!

Up until a few weeks ago, I didn’t know what garlic scapes were. But Washington’s Green Grocer has some in the box for the week so I decided to give them a try. After all, anything with the word “garlic” in it is bound to be delicious. I have garlic consumption problems.

20130709-091318.jpg

I found out that garlic scapes are the green shoots that grow out of the garlic in the spring, and are trimmed so that the garlic bulbs have a chance to grow fatter. Fat garlic bulbs are always a good thing! However, the green scapes that are trimmed are equally edible and delicious! They sort of remind me of green onions (in appearance only) with a light garlic flavor. Yum! πŸ™‚ I also found out that the most common use of these little beauties is to make garlic scape pesto.

20130724-092637.jpg

It turns out this pesto is ridiculously easy to pull together. Just take the garlic scapes (I had about a cup) and cut them into pieces small enough to fit in the food processor.

20130724-092747.jpg

Add nuts (I went with walnuts because I thought the flavor would mesh well with the garlic – and it does!)

20130724-092848.jpg

Then process together with lemon juice, salt, pepper and enough olive oil to form a good pesto-consistency. Yum!

20130724-092944.jpg

At this point, you can also add about a 1/2 cup of cheese and process together, but I was considering freezing mine so I wanted to wait until I was about to use it before adding cheese.

20130724-092409.jpg

Garlic Scape Pesto
Makes approximately 1 1/2 cups.

    – approximately 1 cup garlic scapes
    – 1/2 cup walnuts (or other nuts)
    – salt and pepper
    – 1 tablespoon lemon juice
    – up to 1/2 cup olive oil (stream in until a good consistency is reached)
    – 1/2 cup parmesan cheese

    Place all ingredients except olive oil (and cheese if freezing) in the food processor and process until combined. Stream in olive oil until an appropriate pesto-like consistency is reached.

    You can enjoy on this pesto as you would any other pesto – on pasta, or chicken, or in soup. The possibilities are endless!

    20130724-092513.jpg

    20130724-092551.jpg

2 responses to “Garlic Scape Pesto

  1. I love scapes! If u need other ideas for scapes and for the pesto, I recently posted some (think there’s a link to my scape pesto pizza in there) – Garlic Scapes 2.0 | The Food and Wine Hedonist
    http://foodandwinehedonist.com/2013/07/02/garlic-scapes-2-0/

    • Awesome! Thanks for the link πŸ™‚ The pizza sounds awesome – but I love the idea of the “carbonara” with a fried egg…it looks so delicious I want to go cook it up right now! I’m definitely going to use that idea in the future.

Leave a Comment

