Green Smoothies and Race Readiness!

Last night I tried out the Aqua Fitness class at my gym with my friend Heather. It was actually on the schedule as Aqua Zumba, but they had a last minute substitution to Aqua Fitness. I was kind of thankful for this because the idea of Zumba doesn’t really appeal to me. It was a blast! We did some cardio running around the pool and holding on to the side and kicking – and did some exercises with foam weights that really provide some resistance once you’re in the water! It was a neat way to change it up and get a work-out in. At one point, we did an exercise where we ran across the pool with a partner holding on to a noodle around our waist, to add resistence. (Hopefully that painted a decent mental image) It was a ton of fun – a lot harder than I thought – and Heather was such a great cheerleader!

During my research on training for races, I read time and time again that you need to incorporate non-running cardio into your training. Non-running cardio? That was definitely not a part of my life before and sounded sort of, well, terrible. My solution? Just start taking every fitness class I could fit into my schedule to find something that I love – or even if I hated all of it then I would at least get myself through several weeks of cardio in the “taking classes” process.

20130726-174157.jpg

So far the experiment has been a big success. I’m in love with the cycling classes – especially now that I have my new gel bike seat cover! And I’m going to invest in a pair of cycling shoes in the next couple of weeks. Because I enjoy cycling so much, I don’t know if I’ll get around to all the classes. Zumba and step have never really appealed to me, but who knows? Maybe I’ll take them and they’ll end up being favorites too! 🙂

This morning, I whipped up my usual green smoothie for breakfast – but I’ve made some big changes to the recipe this week because of my cold. I’ve been leaving out the yogurt/milk since that always seems to make my throat feel worse. I’m losing a lot of protein due to this, but I figure it’s ok for just this week – and look at the awesome green color!

20130726-174619.jpg
20130726-174531.jpg

Tropical Mango Green Smoothie
Serves one

    – 4 cups spinach, loosely packed (I use the cup measurement on the side of my blender)
    – 1 cup apple juice (or juice of your choice)
    – 1 frozen banana
    – ½ cup frozen mango

Blend together and enjoy!

20130726-174701.jpg

20130726-174706.jpg

This afternoon I drove to Pacers in Arlington to pick up my race packet for the Crystal City Twilighter 5k race tomorrow night in Crystal City. I can’t wait! It’s my first “real” race – meaning it’s timed and there’s not going to be anyone throwing anything at me – at least not officially! 😉

20130726-174554.jpg

Included in my packet is a glow stick – which I’m pretty excited about wearing and then fully intend on bringing home to put in my freezer to try to keep some glow in it until the next day. Did anyone else do that as a kid? 🙂 I’ve also heard a rumor that there might be some dogs from a local animal shelter at the finish line to greet the runners. I hope this rumor is true! I can’t pass up petting a dog anywhere I see one, and I’d love to soak up some puppie-lovin’ post race! It’s so sad I can’t have a dog in my apartment.

Keep up with all the happenings as they go down by following me on Twitter and Instagram!

5 responses to “Green Smoothies and Race Readiness!

  1. I make a lot of fruit and vegetable smoothies also before workouts. It really is rejuvenating. Thanks.

  2. I’ve been taking Zumba for years and love it. I never would have gone on my own but a friend got me into it. People of all ages are in the class and it’s just fun, plus I get sore in places I don’t when running, so I know it’s good cross training. 🙂

    • I love how friends get each other into different fitness classes and they fall in love! 🙂 That’s how I got into Body Pump. I think I’ll definitely have to give zumba a try for cross-training! Thanks for the tip 🙂

  3. Pingback: Peachy Green Smoothie | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

