Fabulous Fitness Survey

I saw this survey on Carrots’N’Cake and thought it would be fun to fill it out! ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to play along on your blog, or add your answers in the comments.

I’m also featured in the Lady Lifter Spotlight today on one of my favorite blogs: Wine to Weightlifting! Check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

A green smoothie. I have a green smoothie for breakfast every week day. I just feel like it gets me off on the right foot nutrition-wise. And it keeps me full all morning! ๐Ÿ™‚

20130702-090330.jpg

2. How much water do you drink a day?

I don’t keep an exact count but I drink a lot of water. I would say I refill my 28 ounce water bottle 5 times at work throughout the day and I drink several more glasses at night. I’m just a very thirsty person naturally. At times, I’ve actually wondered if it’s abnormal how much water I drink.

water

3. What is your current favorite work out?

Body Pump! I am absolutely in love with this workout class. I didn’t know anything about weight lifting going in, and it made weight lifting not only accessible – but fun! I feel like I get a killer strength training workout in with this class.

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

I don’t count calories. I have absolutely no patience for it. My philosophy is that I try to make choices to eat healthy, whole foods with a focus on fresh fruits and vegetables and the rest will take care of itself. I’m not going to beat myself up for the occasional cheeseburger or chocolate chip cookie! ๐Ÿ™‚

favorite food

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I usually snack on fruit, a handful of nuts, or a Larabar when I’m at work. I’m trying to incorporate more vegetables into my snacking but it’s only been an intermittent success so far. One of my absolutely favorite snacks is to top some Greek yogurt or cottage cheese with a handful of nuts, some seeds, some dried or fresh fruit, and some honey. Delicious! I also keep a bag of individually-wrapped small squares of dark chocolate around to have as a treat (let’s be honest – almost every day!). Dark chocolate actually has a lot of health benefits, and the individual squares keep the portion size in check. It’s one of my favorite healthy tips!

20130719-085851.jpg

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

I almost always eat leftovers for lunch. I cook dinner for myself every night of the week, and I always seem to make a ton of food that I end up eating as lunch/other dinners for several days afterwards. I also like that it makes packing a lunch easy so I’m not tempted to buy lunch at work!

7. What is your favorite part of the body to strength train?

Since I started taking Body Pump classes I have truly fallen in love with strength training. Before, I found weight lifting so intimidating because I wasn’t sure what I was doing but this class shows you everything you need to know – and sets the moves to kickass music! I’ve fallen in love with this class so much that I think I’d prefer strength training to running most days. When I really ramp up my training for the half marathon, I’m going to have to cut my strength training to one day a week and I’m going to be sad to see it go!

As far as my favorite strength training move, I think I’d have to say squats for now because I can really feel it getting my heart rate up!

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

I dread the shoulder track because my shoulders are incredibly weak. I’m not sure why, but I really struggle with the lifts, and the push-ups. this is definitely my goal area to work on!

what are you doing here

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

I try not to think of foods as “bad” or “good” (other than highly processed foods which are definitely in the “bad” camp) but I do occasionally crave foods that I know aren’t doing anything for my body (i.e. not providing any nutrients). My biggest weakness is donuts. Thankfully, I’m not around them often but when I am I feel like I can’t resist! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

I don’t, although I probably should. I’ve never been able to get into the habit of taking vitamins. I’m actually really curious if I need to, since I feel like I eat a pretty healthy diet. I’ve been thinking about going to the doctor to get a vitamin panel to see what it says but I haven’t gotten around to it. Mostly because I really dislike going to the doctor :-/

11. How often do you eat out?

I try to limit myself to one “eating out” day a week and most weeks I’m pretty good at sticking to it. It does tend to get really messed up when I travel, or have a friend visiting, or go to see my family for the weekend – but overall I think I’m good at limiting it to one night a week because I truly enjoy cooking for myself. I still struggle with it sometimes because “let’s get dinner” is one of the most popular ways friends like to get together and catch up, but I’ve started offering to have people over to my place – which also helps because I also tend to always cook too much food!

12. Do you eat fast food?

As I discussed in my post about Taco Bell and it’s enticing quesadillas I do not eat fast food anymore. I’m tempted sometimes, but I feel so terrible afterwards that I know it’s just not worth it.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

My mom and my best friends. They’re literally always there for me when I need them and I know that whatever path I choose – they’ll be there to support it.

20130731-211926.jpg

20130719-085337.jpg

14. Do you have a gym membership?

I do! ๐Ÿ™‚ I belong to a local gym which is where I fell in love with Body Pump, and I also take Yoga and Cycling classes there. I absolutely love my gym so if you live in the DC area and need a recommendation definitely let me know!

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

I’m a HUGE fan of sleep. I definitely sleep 8 hours a night – and when I don’t I almost always find the time to take a nap the next day to catch up! I recently read an article that said taking a nap approximately 2 hours after exercise is one of the best ways to help your body recover and muscle rebuild and I was so excited! ๐Ÿ™‚

pajamas by 7 pm

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

I don’t have an official “cheat” day but I don’t believe in sticking to a strict diet. I believe that if you make healthy choices, everything sort of evens out. I try to go by a 80/20 rule. If you eat healthy 80% of the time, then the other 20% you don’t have to worry as much about what you’re eating. Plus I find that the more healthy choices I make – the more I tend to make them naturally instead of reaching for the unhealthy ones!

17. Do you drink alcohol?

I do, though not as often as I used to. I find that after a trip to the gym (which I usually do in the evenings), I don’t want to drink so it’s cut down on a lot of my drinking except for at special occasions. One of my favorite hobbies, however, is visiting wineries and I always end up buying a ton of wine from each one! I have approximately 50-60 bottles of wine in my house at any given time, and the majority of them are from wineries I’ve physically been to. Actually, since I haven’t been drinking as much lately my stock is building up! I’m going to have to set aside a time to drink it! ๐Ÿ™‚

wine

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

My friend Heather is the one who first got me into Body Pump, and we’ve run most of my 5k races together. So I have her to thank! ๐Ÿ™‚ We don’t get together for every workout these days, but I’d say we go together once or twice a week!

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since adopting a healthy lifestyle?

It’s hard to pick just one thing! Mostly I just feel better than I ever have – mentally, physically and spiritually. I feel healthier, I look healthier, and I love discovering the new things I can do!

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

This is a hard question. I went to Body Pump last night, increased some of my weights, and really put 110% in so I guess that counts! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Comment

