Workout Recovery Smoothie – Dessert Style!

After posting my fitness bucket list yesterday, my Body Pump teacher saw it and was all about me tackling 10 push-ups last night in class. Conveniently, there were exactly 10 push-ups in our shoulder track. I’m proud to say I stayed up on my toes for all 10, but they were mostly little half push-ups like I tend to do. I’m looking to get down to full-on 90 degree badass push-ups. It’s going to take some practice! My friend Jennifer at Wine to Weightlifting also recommended this 100 push ups training program that I think I’m going to give a shot. The website isn’t the best but the training plan looks do-able. 100 pushups? Definitely my personal great white whale. Heck, 10 is going to be a challenge. But I’m going to try it out and report back!

After class last night I wanted a post-workout snack but wasn’t feeling any of my usual choices. I have blogged in the past about post work-out snacks if you want to check it out. Last night, I decided a smoothie was in order. And I was feeling indulgent so I decided to go for a “dessert”-style smoothie. Meaning it ended up tasting like a chocolate milkshake. Yum.

20130814-103545.jpg

20130814-103554.jpg

And it was packed with protein, and relatively healthy. Not to mention seriously easy to throw together.

20130814-103518.jpg

Healthy “Chocolate Milkshake” Smoothie
Serves one.

    – 1 frozen banana
    – 1 cup soy milk (or milk of your choice)
    – 2 tablespoons chocolate hazelnut spread (I used one single serving packet of Justin’s)
    – 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
    – 1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy! I loved the frothy, smooth consistency of this smoothie. And it really did taste like a chocolate milkshake. It was the perfect way to end the evening!

Some articles you might enjoy…

~ 25 Best Nutrition Secrets (Women’s Health)

~ Tips for Making an Exercise Comeback (Women’s Health)

~ 12 New Workout Songs (Shape) – I’m seriously always on the lookout for new music!

~ Quick Breakfast Ideas (Inspired RD)

6 responses to “Workout Recovery Smoothie – Dessert Style!

  1. Oh…I want to try this. My husband is all for smoothie’s. I think I could even drink this one. Yummy. Andrea @ be-quoted.com visiting from SITS.

  2. Ooooooh, I tried this yesterday and it is YUMMY!!

  3. Pingback: Peachy Green Smoothie | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  4. Pingback: National Chocolate Milkshake Day - A Holiday Chef

Leave a Comment

