Peachy Green Smoothie

This morning I changed up my usual green smoothie a bit. Yesterday, I tweeted out an article about various ways to eat Greek yogurt. One of them was to use it as the base for a smoothie with juice – what a great idea! While I usually use a tablespoon or so of Greek yogurt in my smoothie, I have never used it as more of a main ingredient. So this morning I whipped up this tasty peach smoothie.

20130820-130345.jpg

I’ve also started using a new technique for incorporating Greek yogurt into my smoothies. It may just be in my head, but it seems like the kale blends smoother when I wait and add the Greek yogurt to the blender once the smoothie is already pretty well blended. It doesn’t take much to incorporate the yogurt so it works well (hence no yogurt in the picture). This smoothie turned out to be so creamy (thanks to the yogurt) and had a great peach flavor. It would also blend to a nice peach color, if it weren’t for all the kale I add to every smoothie. Feel free to leave the greens out if you prefer!

20130820-130521.jpg

Peachy Green Smoothie
Serves one.

    – 3 cups kale, loosely packed (or spinach, or omit)
    – 1 1/2 cups apple juice or green tea
    – 1/2 cup frozen peaches (if you use fresh, add some ice cubes to get the smoothie to the right consistency)
    – 1 frozen banana
    – 1/2 cup Greek yogurt

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

My other smoothie recipes:
Tropical Mango Green Smoothie
“Chocolate Milkshake” Workout Recovery Smoothie
Berry Green Smoothie

Other links that might interest you:

~13 Biggest Fitness Myths(Women’s Health)
~Strength Training Cheat Sheet(Women’s Health)

4 responses to “Peachy Green Smoothie

  1. Yum! I am in a smoothie rut – this looks great!

  2. Craving a smoothie now!! Found you on SITS =)

Leave a Comment

