Running Update: The Start of Training

Next week officially starts my training plan for my 10k in November and then my half marathon in February. Although running was the first step I took down this fitness road, I took a break from it for the past month or so. I absolutely fell in love with weight training (i.e. my Body Pump class) and started really dedicating myself to yoga a few times a week – so running just fell by the wayside. I was feeling burnt out to the point where I didn’t want to go for a run, so I didn’t want to push it on myself and grow to hate it. I’m not sure if it was the hot and sticky weather here in DC, or if I just needed a break – but now it’s time to go back.

And I’m ready to go back. I am sad to be giving up my two days a week of yoga and weight lifting but I’m ready to run again. I find myself looking forward to it. I was scared that taking a break would leave me dreading running again, but instead I feel refreshed and ready to take on the open road. I’m sure the cooler fall weather is helping with that too! πŸ™‚

Running and I
(Image Source)

In fact, it turns out that my friend Heather can’t run the Disney Princess Half Marathon with me. She had pre-existing plans that weekend, which makes me sad but I also didn’t sign up for the race intending on running it with anyone else so it’s not completely heartbreaking. Sidenote: if anyone happens to be running this race and wants to meet up there and/or virtual train (or actual train if you’re nearby) I’m totally game! Running is always better with a friend! πŸ™‚

On the other hand, Heather really wants to run a half marathon too, and the idea of training and running one together just sounds too awesome to pass up. So, when the Rock’and’Roll Half Marathon comes to DC on March 15th, 2014 Heather and I are going to run it. It’s soon enough after my half in Florida, that we can basically train together until then. Running two half marathons that close together might not be the best plan on my part, but I figure there’s always a few long runs in the last few weeks before the taper of training plans so it won’t be much different than that. After all, my goal is just to finish and have fun – and I think that’s an attainable goal.

heyrunnergirl
(Image Source)

What races do you have coming up?

4 responses to “Running Update: The Start of Training

  1. It’s wonderful that you’re doing this! I’m stopping by from SITS but especially interested in your recipes. We have 3 very athletic kids and my husband and I are trying to incorporate more whole foods. Basically, we’re trying to choose healthier options! I hope to find something I can use!

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ and thanks for stopping by! I definitely hope you find some recipes you like – and feel free to send me an email or a comment if you have any suggestions or specific requests! πŸ™‚

  2. Stopping in from SITS! I’m not HUGE on running, but I LOVE the way it feels when I’m done! I have a measly little 5K coming up on September 28th, but I am REALLY considering doing a 10K the weekend before. It would be my first 10K, and Im really nervous. I haven’t even registered yet.

    • Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚ I completely agree with you! I’m not a big fan of running during the actual process – I just love the way I feel afterwards! Congrats on the 5k! It’s not measly at all! All I’ve done is 5ks so far and I’m nervous about my 10k and half coming up! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

