Black Forest Cake Smoothie & Protein Shake Recipes

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day weekend! 🙂 I took Friday off of work to spend a long weekend with my mom. It was great catching up – and I’ll share a full post of our adventures tomorrow! 🙂

Yesterday, I guest posted on Domestic Superhero with another dessert smoothie recipe! (<— click to check it out! :-)) I was inspired by an article I found on Greatist about how cherry juice can help with sore muscles and thought the combination of cherry juice and chocolate protein powder would make a great dessert smoothie! Not to mention, it’s pretty healthy and tastes like Black Forest cake! Yum!

20130903-170017.jpg

In addition to the smoothie recipe, I also whipped up a Black Forest Cake Protein Shake recipe – all the goodness without the blender!

20130903-165954.jpg

Black Forest Cake Protein Shake
Serves one.

    – 2 cups cherry juice
    – 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (or 1 scoop unflavored protein powder with 2 tablespoons cocoa)

Blend or shake together ingredients in a blender bottle.

This protein shake is great for muscle repair and recovery immediately after working out – but the smoothie is too if you’re looking for something a little thicker or you aren’t into protein powder.

4 responses to “Black Forest Cake Smoothie & Protein Shake Recipes

  1. Yum, Yum, YUM!!!!! Thanks for sharing.

    Stopping by from SITS.

  2. Nice! I need to mix up my smoothie recipes! Seriously love this combo! — Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

    • Thanks Erika! I’m always looking for new smoothie recipes too 🙂 And thanks for posting the information about the race this Saturday! I wish I didn’t already have plans – it’s for a great cause!

Leave a Comment

