Whipped Feta Dip and Herbed Goat Cheese Dip

I hope everyone had a great weekend! Yesterday was my birthday and I celebrated with a relatively relaxing day of football and then dinner and drinks with friends. I don’t think there is a much better way to spend a Sunday 🙂

On Saturday I stopped by Starbucks post-Body Pump for a soy latte and noticed that Godiva has a new “truffle flight” out that is dessert themed. The truffle flight features flavors like Red Velvet Cake, Crème Brulee, and Chocolate Lava Cake. Needless to say, I couldn’t resist buying it. It seemed like the perfect birthday treat!

20130916-182942.jpg

20130916-182952.jpg

When the cashier rung me up at the counter, she noticed that I was buying truffles and offered me a free truffle “sample” (it was a whole truffle) that they had been giving away earlier that day. Free truffle? Yes please! It was a great start to my Saturday. On Saturday night, Heather and I went to the Jason Aldean concert at Jiffy Lube Live. It was a great show, although the weather was a little chilly. I guess fall really is almost here!

Ever since my Mom and I tried the goat cheese dip at Café Caturra I have been obsessed with re-creating it. Well, I think I succeeded at making a homemade version! 🙂 This Sunday I whipped up a few cheese dips to enjoy while watching football, including a goat cheese dip. I had to restrain myself from eating all of it. This is a quick and easy recipe that I will definitely be making for many football gatherings (and non-football gatherings) to come!

Sidenote: I went to Café Caturra last night for my birthday and again failed to take any pictures. #bloggerfail I think the problem is that when I see food, I instantly start stuffing my face. #thingsIneedtoworkon

20130916-182814.jpg

Herb & Goat Cheese Dip

    – 1 log goat cheese (I used a small one – just a few ounces)
    – an equal amount of ricotta (I used this to tone down the tangy goat cheese, you can use less ricotta and it’ll be more tangy)
    – a pinch or two of oregano
    – a pinch of herbs de provence, Italian seasoning, or other herb blend
    – 1 teaspoon lemon juice
    – 1 tablespoon Greek yogurt

Process or blend all ingredients together in a food processor. Serve with chips, crackers, or toasted bread.

Once I made the goat cheese dip, I figured I could apply the same technique to some feta cheese I had to use up. It turned out great!

20130916-182851.jpg

Whipped Feta Dip

    – 1 container feta
    – 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese
    – 1 tablespoon Greek yogurt
    – 1 teaspoon lemon juice
    – a pinch or two of dried oregano

Blend or process all ingredients together in a food processor and serve with chips, crackers or toasted bread.

I also think either one of these would be great spread on a sandwich or in a pita! 🙂

6 responses to “Whipped Feta Dip and Herbed Goat Cheese Dip

  1. Thanks for the dip recipes, can’t wait to try them.

  2. Pingback: A Running Crisis & Cheese and Herb Stuffed Chicken | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  3. Yum, I love feta!

Leave a Comment

