Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole

Oh dear – it’s been almost two weeks since I posted! Not that you noticed, but I do want to make it clear that I didn’t die or disappear – I just fell into a black hole of overtime and stressful days at work that left me at a point where the last thing I wanted to do was look at a computer screen. So I took a little break and tried to unplug. I think it has done wonders to re-energize me.

To catch up, over the past two weeks I worked a lot of long hours, but still managed to whip up some delicious (homemade!) food. And I did remember to take pictures of (most) of it. And I can’t wait to share the recipes with you! Up first, a recipe that is a great use-up for leftovers, but can be a little time-consuming if you’re making it from scratch. In this instance, I had leftover rice (some wild rice that I had made for a previous dinner, and some white rice from Chinese food take-out) and some chicken and stock from my big day of broth making. I have to say that this recipe could be really versatile and definitely work with any leftovers you have (I’m thinking couscous or quinoa could be an interesting twist!). The original recipe is from MichelleMarieFit and I didn’t change it up too much when I made my version.

20131002-095739.jpg

Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole
Serves six.
Based on MichelleMarieFit

    – 2 cups leftover cooked chicken
    – 2 cups leftover cooked wild rice (or a combination of wild rice and white/brown rice)
    – 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
    – 1/2 cup chicken stock
    – 2 cups leftover cooked vegetables (or you can sauté them really quick before adding to the casserole – I used a combination of celery, garlic, carrot, onion and edamame)
    – 3 tablespoons parmesan cheese

Combine all ingredients (cooking anything that isn’t already cooked beforehand) in a casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, or until lightly browned.

This was such an easy dinner to throw together! I was really happy with it – and I even froze a bunch of single serving size portions in small containers to use as “heat and eat” style lunches for days when I don’t have anything planned!

2 responses to “Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole

  1. That chicken rice casserole looks delicious!

Leave a Comment

