A Running Crisis & Cheese and Herb Stuffed Chicken

I’m having a little bit of a running crisis lately. I’ve discussed it in detail with a few of my friends and the problem is that mainly – I’m not a big fan of running.

Sure, once a week or every other week I get the urge to go out for a run. But I definitely don’t like it enough to run the 3 times a week (minimum) that would be required for proper training. So here I am, 5 weeks into my training plan that should have gotten me through a 10k in November and then a Half Marathon in February and I just don’t want to do it anymore. Through the first weeks of this training plan, I’ve made excuses to skip more runs than I can count which has resulted in only working out 3, sometimes 4 days a week. In contrast, during the months of July-August I gave myself permission not to run at all and focus on yoga, weight lifting, and cycling and I was working out 5-6 days a week without really even noticing it. Probably because I was participating in activities I truly looked forward to and enjoyed.

This situation has left me in a yo-yo argument with myself of “just don’t run the races – there’s no reason to dedicate yourself to something that you don’t enjoy” to “don’t be a quitter” and back again. I’ve had numerous friends tell me you can do it. But it’s not so much that I think I can’t do it as that I don’t want to. And isn’t it silly to force myself to do something half-heartedly when there are activities I’d gladly dedicate myself whole-heartedly to?

In this spirit, I think I’ve decided to skip the 10k in November, and possibly knock the race in February back to a 10k (if Disney will let me switch). There are circumstances surrounding the February race that make it hard for me to not go at all, so I’m hoping to still participate in some way that weekend.

Now, on a less existential note: a recipe! 🙂

bacon cheese chicken

I came up with this recipe as a way to use up some leftover cream cheese I had in the fridge, as well as some bacon and chicken breasts that I had picked up on sale. Also, lately I’ve had a thing for blending up cheese in my food processor.

Bacon-Wrapped, Cheese & Herb Stuffed Chicken
Serves 4.

    – 4 boneless chicken breasts (or you could use thighs I suppose)
    – ¼ cup cream cheese
    – ¼ cup ricotta cheese (I’m sure you could use all cream cheese, this is just what I had on hand)
    – 1 tablespoon dried herbs of your choice, I used oregano and thyme
    – 4 slices bacon
    – Salt and pepper

Cut a “pocket” into the fat side of each chicken breast. Salt and pepper the chicken and set aside.

Add cheeses and herbs to the food processor and process until smooth.

20131007-170118.jpg

Stuff each chicken breast with cheese mixture and wrap in a single bacon slice. Place in an oven-safe skillet over medium-high heat and sear on each side before transferring to a 350 degree oven to cook for 15 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.

20131007-170308.jpg
20131007-170409.jpg

I served the chicken breasts with some steamed veggies on the side – such a quick and easy, delicious dinner! I also suspect that these would freeze well. You can stuff and wrap the chicken breasts, then seal in a freezer bag for future dinners! 🙂

14 responses to “A Running Crisis & Cheese and Herb Stuffed Chicken

  1. Umm those wraps look INSANE.
    And I just want to give you a shout out for being so honest here. I am a runner and love it…today. But not always, but I don’t feel like I hear people talk about that often.

    • Thank you! 🙂 They were really delicious – I just had to share 🙂 and thanks for your support…running definitely isn’t something I always love. I’d say once every few weeks I really want to run and really love it – so forcing myself to do it more than that seems counterproductive. I’m glad I’m not alone! 🙂

  2. I’ve been running half marathons for three years and I still have terrible runs and great runs. I recently couldn’t get through a three mile run without walking and I’m at the stage of my plan where I do a 10+ mile long run each week. It makes no sense. I really have to remind myself of my good experiences in order to keep running four times a week.

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words 🙂 I think I just jumped into the long distances too quickly. I’m not up to running 3-4 days a week when there are other exercises (notably weight lifting) that I enjoy more. I’m still in love with running 5ks and will definitely keep the running up – but not at the frequency I need to train! 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on parttimeprosperity and commented:
    Mmmmmmmm Bacon! These look awesome!

  4. I think a lot of us still have those days or weeks where getting out there is harder than usual. But I’ve always felt amazing when I finished. Don’t worry, you’ll get back into it when you’re ready.

  5. I wondered, several months ago, when you mentioned the 10k and then the Half, if you were biting off too much, given that you just started running not so long ago – but it certainly was motivation for me to keep up with my running (as much as I hate it). 🙂 I think that doing exercise you love to do is key. Otherwise it’s just work or punishment. I read a really interesting article on why most women don’t exercise — and it all comes down to seeing working out as a chore or a punishment for having indulged in too much decadent food. When we shift our thinking that exercise is something we reward ourselves with – to make our bodies stronger and healthier – then the attitudes shift and we prioritize (versus make excuses around) exercise. All that said, I’m committed to getting myself to a place where I can run a 10k. Even if it kills me. 🙂
    Well done on being so honest about the struggle, Jackie. Kudos to you for a brave and real post.

    • Thank you so much 🙂 I completely agree with you! The most important part of exercising is making it something you look forward to – and yoga and weight lifting are activities I truly look forward to. I don’t hate running, but I think sticking to occasionally running and 5k races will keep me from seeing running as a chore. I’m glad you’ve kept up your motivation! 🙂 You can definitely accomplish anything you set your mind to!

  6. Reminds me of a meme I saw: Our bodies can do anything; it’s just our minds we need to convince. 🙂

  7. Yummm! Looks like heaven! 🙂
    AurumEve.com ~ Global Jewelry

Leave a Comment

