Announcing: Featured Foxy Foodie!

So I got this idea from a friend of mine in the blogging world, Jennifer at Wine to Weightlifting. I met her through a post series that she does called the Lady Lifter Spotlight. Through this post I met her, several other bloggers, and got to share my own blog with a new network of readers. It was such a great experience that I decided to adapt the idea to use here on my own site!

Which is how I came up with idea for Featured Foxy Foodie!

featuredfoxyfoodie

This series of posts (to be put up 1-2 times a month) will feature other bloggers (and non-bloggers!) from around the web. Each blogger will fill out a short questionnaire and provide me with a few photos that I will turn into a post that features their “food perspective” (i.e. paleo, vegan, flexetarian, clean eating) and why they choose to eat that way. I think this is a great opportunity for us all to learn about other people’s experiences with food, and to give other bloggers an opportunity to share their blog! I’m a true foodie at heart (hence the blog title) and I’m truly fascinated with hearing about other people’s perspectives and experiences. That’s my favorite part of the blogging world – learning from each other! πŸ™‚

To be fair, and to give you an idea of what to expect, I thought I’d complete the questionnaire myself to kick us off!

tiger

Name: Jackie
Blog Name: Foxy Whole Foodie
Twitter: Jiffy877
Pinterest: Pinterest Boards!
Facebook: Foxy Whole Foodie
Location: Alexandria, VA
Age: 26

What kind of β€œfoodie” are you (i.e. Paleo, Vegetarian, Flexetarian, or do you just love all food? :-)) and why?:

I think of myself as a “whole foodie” which may or may not be a term I made up. Basically, I try to eat a clean diet – meaning no processed ingredients. I don’t always succeed – I’m not going to pass up food at a restaurant or work event just because of my beliefs – but I do my best to eat homemade food. I try to live by an 80/20 rule. If I eat really well 80% of the time, then the other 20% I don’t have to worry as much, and I can enjoy a night out!

If you had to eat one food every day for the rest of your life, what food would it be?:

I think if we’re going with a main course answer to this question I’d have to go with sushi. I’m absolutely in love with sushi and could easily eat it everyday without getting tired of it. But a more realistic answer would be dark chocolate. I buy very high cocoa content (over 70% dark chocolate) in small squares and I let myself have one every day. Dark chocolate is good for you – in small doses – and I look forward to this treat more than I work look forward to cake, ice cream, or candy.

Are there any foods you don’t like or refuse to try?:

I try every food once but I have a serious grudge against mushrooms. I know, I know – everything I say that people say things like “What?! Mushrooms are great!” I happen to disagree. I’ve never really just taken a bite of a whole mushroom but I know I’ve had them as ingredients in other foods and personally I think they have sort of a muddy taste. I can live without them.

When/where did you learn how to cook?:

I think I really started to learn to cook towards the end of my college years and as I moved out into my first single apartment. Growing up, I wasn’t too interested in cooking except throwing together the occasional Hamburger Helper meal for my family (see my healthier non-processed makeover of my beloved Stroganoff recipe). As I learned more and more about homecooked food and the hazards of processed ingredients, my cooking skills grew! I have Rachel Ray to thank for a lot of it. I would watch her “30 Minutes Meals” show every afternoon after work and her style of cooking (no measuring, going with the ingredients you have) definitely influenced how I cook today.

What is your favorite thing to cook?:

My Homemade “Almost” Tandoori Chicken. It’s so easy to throw together, so delicious – and gives me an excuse to eat other favorites like hummus and Naan bread! πŸ™‚

What is the best (or most memorable) meal you’ve ever had?:

A few years ago I impulse-bought a Groupon for a small bed and breakfast down near Charlottesville, VA called the High Meadows Vineyard Inn. As a part of the Groupon, we got dinner and breakfast and the on-site chef (the owner’s son) was amazing. Everything was local and organic, with some things (like the eggs we had for breakfast!) coming from the inn’s own chickens. It was an amazing experience and the dinner I had was incredible. It was homemade Caesar salad and dressing (to this day the best Caesar dressing I’ve ever had), Salmon with caper berries and potatoes and crΓ¨me brulee for dessert. Amazing.

Have you found any new recipes lately that you’re dying to try?:

In the Thanksgiving edition of Real Simple (the issue before the current one) there were two great salad recipes that I’m dying to try. I’m going to bring one or both of them to my office potluck. The first is called Crispy Greens with Oranges and Pecans and the second is Wilted Spinach with Raisins and Pistachios. Both just sound so delicious and perfect for Thanksgiving!

Do you have any embarrassing kitchen stories or recipe disasters to share?:

I’ve been pretty fortunate in the kitchen, especially given my habit of not measuring things and just throwing them in a “seeing what happens”. I think part of this luck has been that I barely bake – which is one of the pickiest ways to cook. Most regular cooking is very fluid and you can afford to go with the flow, add things, and taste as you go – that’s how most chefs cook! πŸ™‚

Most of my embarrassing kitchen stories would have to do with the fact that I get injured pretty frequently. I have a clumsy nature, and a high pain tolerance which combines into frequent cuts, scraps, bruises, and burns (thankfully nothing too serious). For example, I recently accidentally let a small pot of water boil over on the stove. In my rush to clean up the mess I made – I cut off the flame, moved the pot and immediately grabbed the metal burner to pick it up and move it to wipe up the spill. Obviously, the metal burner was still extremely hot and I ended up scorching off a few fingerprints “Men In Black” style. Oops! πŸ™‚

What is your best tip(s) for eating healthy?:

Find foods that you truly love that are good for you! When you look forward to those “healthy foods” – it doesn’t feel like you’re depriving yourself. Also, start eating whole, unprocessed foods and let your taste-buds adjust. Once you’ve gotten all those over-sweetened, chemical, junk out of your system you’ll be able to more fully appreciate the range of flavors in real food – the sweetness of corn, the nutty flavor of chickpeas, or the rich tang of roasted tomatoes.

I hope you enjoyed reading through my answers and were inspired to share some of your own! πŸ™‚ If you’d like to be featured as a Foxy Whole Foodie email me at foxywholefoodie@gmail.com for the details! I’m looking forward to hearing from you! πŸ™‚

32 responses to “Announcing: Featured Foxy Foodie!

  1. Love this idea, Jackie! πŸ™‚

    And I, too, think mushrooms are just awful!!

  2. The Featured Foxy Foodie sounds like a great idea!

  3. Happy SITS day! πŸ™‚ Hope you get lots of comment love!

  4. Congratulations on your SITS day. I hope it’s a fabulous day for you.

    Fun questionnaire.

  5. Happy SITS day! Love the Q&A on here. Great insights. Happy to connect πŸ™‚

  6. You have a great healthy grip on your life. I’m impressed. Thank you for sharing so much about yourself. Have a blessed day!

  7. Hi Jackie! I’m visiting from SITS and I love your blog! Definitely some recipes I would like to try, even though I am a terribly unhealthy double working parent family with two young children (which unfortunately results in way too much McDonalds and frozen food!). When I do cook, I try to make it healthy and yummy for all the picky eaters in my family! Great blog!

    • Thanks for stopping by for SITS! πŸ™‚ I appreciate your comment πŸ™‚ I completely understand – I grew up with a single mom who worked really hard and we ended up eating a lot of packaged and processed for (and McDonalds!) but slowly over time we found ways to incorporate whole foods into our lives. One small step at a time makes a big difference! πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations and Happy SITS Day! I hope that you make many wonderful connections.

    Rachel recently posted Attitude is Important in Shifting Fear

  9. Love the concept of sharing other’s journey with food. There is always something to learn. I will check out that ‘almost’ homemade recipe for Tandoori chicken, making me drool already! VIsiting via SITS.

  10. great idea!! I just found SITS and you are my first stop! nice to meet you πŸ˜‰

    Jen
    VVM

  11. I love this idea! What a great way to share, expand the community and learn new things! So glad I found you through SITSgirls!

  12. I’m an 80/20 eater as well. I do like healthy eating, but am not stringent. Since we’ve become empty nesters (my 15 children now all adults, yay!) I’ve learned to cook from recipes instead of throwing together a big pot of something to feed the whole gang. I don’t desire to eat out as much as I did before because I can just make it at home and it’s better and cheaper. Enjoy your day.

  13. Happy SITS Day! I hope it’s a great one for you!

    I love the idea you outlined above. Sounds amazing! (By the way, Rachael Ray has inspired me, too, in a lot of ways. πŸ™‚ )

  14. NEW visitor and I feel like I know you so well already! I know that I probably shouldn’t cook with you in the kitchen πŸ˜‰ and that we really need to go out to sushi! What’s your favorite??

  15. Pingback: Featured Foxy Foodie: Courtney! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  16. Pingback: Featured Foxy Foodie: Charlotte! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  17. Pingback: Featured Foxy Foodie: Ashley! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  18. Pingback: Featured Foxy Foodie: Sarah! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  19. Pingback: Featured Foxy Foodie: Danielle! | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment

