Thinking About A Whole30 Program

Hello everyone and Happy Holidays! πŸ™‚

It has been a VERY busy month for me, as I’m sure it has for everyone. This is “busy season” at work which is a hell unto itself – but I’ve also been trying to get ready for the holidays. I’m sure you all can relate. Thankfully, this past week was probably the worst of the work stuff, and I managed to finish up my Christmas shopping AND wrapping on Saturday which means I’m officially ready for the holiday!

I’m going to try to put up a few posts (including a new Featured Foxy Foodie next Friday!) between now and the holidays but the week of Christmas I’m going to unplug and just enjoy the time with family and friends – and I hope you get an opportunity to do the same. Then, we’ll be able to start off 2014 fresh and ready to go!

Speaking of 2014, I’m so excited to start the GRIT program during the second week of January. I’m really looking forward to the team atmosphere, as well as the workouts that thoroughly kick my butt! I think it’ll be a great way to jump-start 2014 and really help bring my fitness to the next level. I started working out for the first time (like, seriously – EVER) this past March and this year has been filled with fun and exciting changes. I know that I’m stronger and healthier – although I don’t feel like I look much different. My primary motivation isn’t to change the way I look, it is to increase strength, but I still feel like I should have made more progress by now. The GRIT program is supposed to be life changing (and I believe it based on what I’ve seen so far) and I think it’ll be just what I need to jump-start the new year.

And speaking of jump starting the new year, I’m toying with the idea of doing a Whole30 challenge for the month of January. I have never been one for restricting my diet, I prefer to just make healthy choices on a daily basis and pretty much eat what I want. But here’s a few reasons I’m considering a Whole30 (check out the link for information on the program):

1. It’s only for 30 days – and it works on an “elimination diet” principle of getting rid of typically “inflammatory” foods to “reset” the body and see how those foods may be affecting you. This idea appeals to me, as I originally started cutting out processed foods to deal with severe stomach issues, as well as migraines. I’m happy to report that both of those things have been reduced significantly, and I’m curious if other foods could be affecting me without me even realizing it.

2. I’m a bit of a “carb-oholic.” A lot of my go-to meals (and even some snacks) rely on bread, pasta, rice, and other carby foods. While I will never give up carbs (and I don’t have any urge to! They’re so delicious…), I think having a diet for 30 days that eliminates them and focuses on vegetables (and non-starchy vegetables too!) will help me re-focus my “go-to” meals and therefore I will naturally incorporate more vegetables in the future.

3. I plan on returning to my normal diet after this program. I’m not eliminating dairy, wheat, and legumes permanently. In fact, some of my favorite healthy foods fall into these categories (Greek yogurt, whole wheats, and beans/chickpeas) and I think it’s important to add them back in. Once again, my focus would be to re-orient my thinking when it comes to other healthy foods.

There are several things that I don’t like about the Whole30 program. Mainly, that it makes me give up Greek yogurt (which is a go-to snack and is very healthy) and legumes (which are also a go-to for me and are great for you). I’m worried that leaving me with just meat, fruits and vegetables will lead me to eating a lot more meat than I usually would (I’m going to need the protein with GRIT!) which cutting out other healthy alternatives. I’m still a little on the fence.

Questions!
Has anyone tried a Whole30 or similar program? Please share your experiences!

4 responses to “Thinking About A Whole30 Program

  1. While I do not think Whole30 is sustainable for anyone long term, I think it’s a great idea for everyone to try it at least once. FULLY COMMIT.. I’ve seen people blogging about their experience and they let things slide.. I say go all or nothing.

    With that being said.. they say don’t calorie count, but my biggest downfall when I did it was not eating nearly enough. My workouts suffered, I lost strength, I didn’t feel all bright eyed and bushy tailed as they say you should. The other big problem was I associated no-grains with no-carb and that isn’t the case at all. If you are doing any sort of workout program, your body still needs carbs! Just not necessarily in the form of grains.

    There is a great chart somewhere on the whole9life site that has good starches, including sweet potatoes, jicama (never had), and plantains (never had either).. sweet potatoes will become your best friend.

    You can read a bit more about my experiences here: http://www.winetoweightlifting.com/category/challenges/whole30/

    • Thanks for the great advice Jen! I definitely meant no-grains not no-carbs (since fruit and veggies have plenty of carbs!) I just phrased it bad. I definitely think I’m going to have to eat a ton of sweet potatoes. I will definitely fully commit and make sure I eat enough. I know with starting GRIT I’m going to need the protein/carbs/calories BIG TIME so that’ll be the biggest challenge – and no protein powder! So sad!

      Thanks again for the great advice! πŸ™‚

  2. Like you, Jackie, I don’t believe in elimination diets as a general rule. I guess a short ‘cleansing period’ is okay, but 30 days seems an awfully long time to go without Greek Yogurt. πŸ™‚
    Good luck, whatever you decide!

    • Thanks Nancy! It’ll definitely be a challenge to go without Greek yogurt if I decide to do it. It’s funny how that’s the thing I’ll miss the most! I’ll definitely share with you guys what I decide and how it goes!

Leave a Comment

