Homemade Exfoliating Sugar Scrub

Today’s post marks post #100! Its crazy how time flies and how blog posts add up! I’m so thankful that I started this blog, it gives me something that I really care about to pour my heart and soul into (since my 9-5 job doesn’t give me that) and I’m even more thankful that I’ve discovered so many like-minded people out there who enjoy reading and sharing their ideas with me. The blogging community is such a vibrant and welcoming place. I couldn’t be happier to be a part of it.

As my blog grows, I’m always trying to make improvements so if you have any comments or suggestions – please feel free to email me or leave a comment on this post. I’ve been mulling over the idea of transitioning the blog from a “.wordpress.com” account to an official “.com.” I’ve heard great things about wordpress.org (the plug-ins! the design freedom!) but I’m also heard horror stories about the transition. I don’t know much about html coding and blog design beyond the bare necessities so I’m scared taking on the transition could completely destroy my site – plus the cost of the transition is a little hefty. Has anyone out there gone through this change and want to share their story?

Now on to the post I originally sat down to write (before discovering it was post 100! :-)): homemade sugar scrub!

20130801-203752.jpg

I love sugar scrub! For a long time, I bought mine at Bath and Body Works but then I discovered through the genius of Pinterest that it’s incredibly easy to make at home! I love to keep a container of scrub in the shower – and this past Saturday I used the last of my mix. I was sort of glad to finally be at the bottom of it as I was dying to try a new recipe!

The first time around I used olive oil based on this recipe, and while it worked fine – there are much better uses for olive oil than in a sugar scrub. Like for dipping bread. Since then, I’ve discovered the crazy goodness that is coconut oil (both for cooking and homemade beauty products) so I knew I wanted to use that in my next batch.

First up, all scrubs are a basic ratio of 2 parts sugar/salt (exfoliant) to 1 part oil. I decided to use a combination of salt and sugar since I feel like sugar can sometimes dissolve a little quickly. I put ½ cup sugar and ½ cup salt into an old sugar scrub container that I re-use for my homemade versions.

20130801-203838.jpg

Next, I measured out ½ cup of coconut oil into a bowl. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature, but melts at 75 degrees so it doesn’t take much to melt it. I knew I wanted to melt it slightly to make the whole concoction easier to mix together, but I didn’t want it to warm because I was worried it would dissolve the sugar/salt. I ended up blasting it in the microwave for about 7 seconds and then stirring it together and it was just melted enough!

20130801-203920.jpg

I added the melty coconut oil to the container with the salt/sugar mixture and stirred it together (gently – the container was very full at this point!). Finally, I added 15 drops of sweet orange essential oil for the nice, invigorating scent. You can use any essential oil you have on hand, I just used one that I don’t tend to use very often from my variety pack.

Here’s the recipe:

Homemade Sugar Scrub
Makes approximately 1 ½ cups

– ½ cup sugar
– ½ cup salt (or use all sugar or all salt)
– ½ cup coconut oil, slightly melted
– 15 drops of your favorite essential oil

Enjoy! This scrub does a great job of exfoliating, and you can feel good that it’s made from all-natural, healthy, ingredients! I love the idea of beauty products that are safe enough to eat (not that I’d recommend it – I bet it wouldn’t taste good! :-))

Speaking of, I found this hilarious post 20 Signs You’re a Wellness Junkie on the Gaiam Pinterest board the other day! It’s hilarious! Mostly because so many of them are true. I’ve definitely taken a side in the juicer/blender debate, and I use coconut oil for some many things I buy it in a big 5 pound jug.

You’re turn! Do you relate to any of the things in the ‘Wellness Junkie’ post? Any more you’d like to add? I think drinking a ton of green tea should be mentioned in there somewhere! 🙂

6 responses to “Homemade Exfoliating Sugar Scrub

  1. I love DIY body/skincare things! ❤

  2. This sounds heavenly! I might have to try it. I love doing a sugar and lemon juice scrub on my face… it is like a little chemical peel, but not nearly as harsh. It is so refreshing, helps to lighten any imperfections and pumice down blemishes. This sounds like it would be a really nice scrub in the winter for dry flakey skin. Thanks! OH, and I totally feel ya’ on the whole blogging thing. I’ve also been lucky to find that the community here is very positive and supportive. Happy 100th!!

Leave a Comment