Green Cleaning: Homemade Stain Remover!

20130318-184718.jpg

So today was my first day at my new job, so of course I had to have a crisis while getting ready. I’m sort of a spaz – and from time to time my hands decide they just don’t want to cooperate with the rest of me. Well, this morning I was putting on mascara when I dropped the wand directly onto my brand new, never worn, white lace shirt that I had decided to wear to my first day of work. Ugh! My first thought was that I couldn’t believe I was going to have to buy a new shirt – but then I figured I’d give a little homemade spot remover a shot. As I mentioned in my post on homemade laundry detergent I haven’t had too much of an occasion to need spot remover but of course I no sooner wrote that – then the occasion arose.

I mixed together the following concoction from what I could remember from a mix of articles and blog posts:

Homemade Spot Remover

  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon dawn dishwashing soap

I mixed the above together and dabbed the resulting liquid on the spot on my shirt with a clean, dry, paper towel. And hallelujah! It worked! I was seriously SO impressed. It can’t be that easy, can it? But here is the result:

20130318-184817.jpg

I circled the approximate area of the stain – but I can’t be sure because I literally can’t see any mark any more! Now, this was a fresh stain so I don’t know if it would be as successful on one set-in but I’m sure going to try if I find one!

This recipe is definitely going in my rotation of green cleaners. I hope it works for you too! 🙂

2 responses to “Green Cleaning: Homemade Stain Remover!

  1. Pingback: New Homemade Laundry Detergent | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

  2. Pingback: Green Cleaner: Bathroom Cleaner | Foxy [Whole] Foodie

Leave a Comment