Chicken & Biscuits

For dinner Sunday night I threw together a comfort-food style dinner, all with ingredients I already had on hand in my house! Score one for my August eating goals!

Ok, I did buy buttermilk at the store but it was a minimal expense, and it gave me an excuse to make pancakes as well! 🙂

Based on the food I had in my house, I knew I could make some kind of “Chicken Pot Pie” style meal but I didn’t want to deal with an actual pie crust. Instead, I decided to make a Chicken Pot Pie-type “filling” then top it with biscuits! It was seriously delicious, and definitely comfort food! The chicken is sort of like a thick chicken soup, and the fluffy biscuits really soak up all the flavors. It’s all the goodness of chicken pot pie without the pesky pie crust.

Sidebar: I was a little nervous about baking biscuits at first before I discovered that they’re basically just flour, butter, baking powder and buttermilk. Pretty easy, huh? 🙂

whole wheat biscuits
20130806-094816.jpg

Chicken and Biscuits
Serves four.

    – 1 cup leftover cooked chicken
    – 1 onion, chopped
    – 2 cloves garlic, minced
    – 1 tablespoon thyme, dried
    – 1 tablespoon flour
    – 1 cup chicken stock
    – Assortment of frozen veggies, about 2 cups total (I used peas, carrots, and green beans)
    – 1 batch biscuits (I used this recipe, but you can use any recipe you have, or store-bought mix, or store-bought biscuits!)

Make the biscuits. While they’re baking in the oven, make the chicken-pot-pie-style filling!

20130806-094840.jpg

20130806-094847.jpg

By the way, the biscuit recipe I used says to cut the biscuits using a cutter but I prefer free-formed “drop” biscuits. So much easier! 🙂

Heat up a tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet. Add the onion and sauté until translucent, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and dried thyme and cook for another minute or so. Add the tablespoon of flour and cook for a minute, then add in the stock whisking thoroughly. Continue to stir occasionally and the mixture should thicken up in about 10 minutes. At this point, add in the chicken and veggies and let everything heat through (it should be the consistency of a stew). Serve in bowls topped with the biscuits, or serve poured over the biscuits.

20130806-094957.jpg

20130806-095002.jpg

20130806-095007.jpg

This dish was the perfect Sunday comfort food dinner. And I was so proud of myself that I used up food that was already available on hand in the house! 🙂

Question of the Day:
What is one of your go-to dinners that you always have the ingredients on hand for? (If you have a blog – feel free to link to your recipe in the comments so I can check it out! :-))

2 responses to “Chicken & Biscuits

  1. Thanks for wishing me an awesome SITS Day! My go to dinner has become
    Lasagne….super easy and it tastes amazing hot!!! Plus the hubby loves it!

Leave a Comment