Naan Bread Pizza

This week for Meatless Monday I made a dinner I was a little too excited about…Naan bread pizza!

20130807-103925.jpg

First, I have a well documented love, well let’s say obsession, with Naan bread. It’s just so pillowy and tangy and delicious. I always buy some to eat with my tandoori chicken, but it worked out that I finished eating the chicken and hummus and tabbouleh before I ran out of Naan bread. Now this is a crisis I can deal with! 🙂

I’ve seen a handful of pins floating around Pinterest about using Naan bread to make pizza. It seemed like the perfect way to finish off my leftover Naan while using up other foods that I had around the house!

20130807-103959.jpg

I heated the oven to 450 (my standard Naan-warming temperature) and cooked the Naan for 4 minutes on the first side. Then, I removed it from the oven and topped it with some leftover garlic scape pesto, sliced tomato, and mozzarella cheese and cooked it in the oven for another 4 minutes just to heat it through and melt the cheese. So simple and delicious! The Naan was a unique crust – with all the tangy, chewy flavor that I love – and the garlic scape pesto was nice and garlicky without overpowering the sweet tomatoes.

I’m in love with this recipe! It’s so easy to throw together and it gives me yet another excuse to buy Naan bread – which may be a bad thing! 🙂

Question of the Day
There are so many options for pizza styles/toppings out there! 🙂 What are your favorite combinations?

4 responses to “Naan Bread Pizza

  1. I love naan too! I also have the same problem as you. I should try to make some pizza.

  2. I had prawn and broccoli on a pizza last night, on a gluten free base. It should have been awful but it was lovely!! One of those using up leftovers nights….

Leave a Comment