Weekend Update & Granola Recipe

I hope everyone had a great weekend! The weekends just seem to go by faster and faster every week. This weekend was really calm and relaxing for me. In true introvert fashion, I spent the entire weekend by myself (other than the workout classes I took at the gym). It was so refreshing!

20130805-170725.jpg

On Saturday morning I went to Body Pump. I’m loving the new releases! The tricep track is really hard, but it’s exactly what I need since I feel like the triceps are the weakest part of my arms. Saturday afternoon, I took myself to see ‘The Way Way Back’ in theaters (another very introvert-y thing to do). The movie was excellent! I’m a huge Sam Rockwell fan and the movie was very charming. There’s just no other word for it. Saturday night dinner was one of my favorites – tandoori chicken, naan bread, tabbouleh and hummus. Yum.

20130805-165946.jpg

Sunday was one of those productive days where I got a bunch of little things done that I’ve been meaning to do for a while. A few months ago, I got an old drawing of mine from art class framed and I’ve been meaning to hang it up but I discovered that Michael’s had put the bracket on the back on upside-down. I finally took the picture back to Michael’s to have the hanger fixed and ‘ta-da!’, hung it on the wall.

20130805-165823.jpg

20130805-165831.jpg

This literally took me 5 minutes. I can’t believe I put it off for so long. I also hung up a hook from West Elm that I’ve also been meaning to hang up for like 6 months. I’m using it to hold my gym/yoga bags by the door. Isn’t it cute? It’s an elephant!

20130805-165902.jpg

While I was grocery shopping on Saturday (it was a very small, quick trip in accordance with my August goal of eating the food that’s already in my house) I spotted some granola that looked absolutely delicious! But I know that store-bought granola can be really high in sugar (plus I’m not supposed to be buying extra grocery items) so I resisted the urge. Later that night, I did some Google-ing/Pinterest-ing and discovered that granola is super easy to make! So I decided to make my own.

20130805-155332.jpg

Turns out it’s as easy as mixing together some oats,

20130805-165740.jpg

Some nuts,

20130805-170017.jpg

Cinnamon (optional), vanilla, salt (gotta love salty-sweet!), coconut oil, and maple syrup.

20130805-170047.jpg

Spread the whole mixture on a sheet pan and toast in the oven for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through.

20130805-170855.jpg

Let it cool and store in an airtight container. I stored mine in this awesome glass jar I picked up at IKEA (really cheap!). It’s delicious, so easy, and along with some Greek yogurt will definitely be my go-to snack this week!

20130805-170928.jpg

This recipe is super easy to customize with your favorite nuts/seeds/flavors. Change out the walnuts for any nuts you like (if you want to use seeds add them in for the last few minutes of roasting or they could burn). You can also use honey instead of the maple syrup but I wanted that maple-y flavor! 🙂

Maple Walnut Granola
Makes 5 cups.

    – 4 cups oats
    – 1 cup walnuts, chopped
    – 1 tablespoon cinnamon
    – 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    – 1 teaspoon salt
    – ½ cup coconut oil, melted
    – ½ cup maple syrup

Combine all ingredients and spread on a sheet pan. Roast in a 325 degree oven for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through. Keep an eye on the granola during the last 5 minutes or so – it browns quickly! I ended up pulling mine after about 17 minutes.

I hope everyone’s week is off to a great start!

5 responses to “Weekend Update & Granola Recipe

  1. Oh my word – YUM! I am bookmarking this one and making it soon. I love the flavor combination. 😀

  2. Pingback: Spread the Love Saturday ~ August 17th | Atlantamomofthree

  3. Pingback: Recipe Wednesday: Favorite Way to Use Eggs | Healthy Living Blogs

Leave a Comment